How does peppermint tea get its brown color; and, how does one process lots of garlic?

Dear Ted and Jody:

After reading that people harvested peppermint by cutting the stems some inches above the roots and then hanging them to dry before stripping the leaves I started that yesterday.  In the meantime, I started my first sun brewed peppermint from the leaves I harvested and dried “improperly.”  after sitting out all night there is no trace of the light brown color I came accustomed to using store bought peppermint tea bags.  It is virtually clear.  Perhaps, I did not use enough leaves in two tea balls for a ½ gallon of peppermint tea. That got me to wondering what causes peppermint tea to have a tea like brown color?  Nancy tells me that the leaves will turn brown when I hang them to dry. That, she assures me, will turn peppermint tea brown when I brew with the leaves stripped from hanging to dry.  I must confess after 24 hours of hanging in the garage the peppermint simply looks wilted, not brown at all.  So I googled my question.  Apparently one other person asked it over three years ago.  One person answered and said all mint tea turns brown.  A fellow from China responded that it is the regular tea mixed in with it.  Funny, the label on my store bought peppermint tea only lists peppermint as an ingredient.  I guess I will have to wait and see if Nancy and the one answer are correct.

In the meantime, I am faced with some way to process my garlic crop.  Last fall I replanted about a hundred or so garlic plants.  Then this spring I put another four score in pots.  The ones from the fall planting multiplied. I have not examined the ones in the pots.  But the transplanted ones are about the size of garlic in the grocery stores that sell for 58 cents each.  Last night I started to process one by removing the skin so I could mince the cloves in the Ninja.  What a time consuming and tedious process with just a paring knife.  II really needed a garlic clove de-skinning device.  Fortunately, such a thing is made.  I picked one up at a kitchen shop today in the Centralia Outlet Mall and will try again this evening.  You would think the holiday is Agriculture Day instead of Labor Day.

Actually since I am writing while Nancy is shopping in ALL the stores at the outlet mall the holiday should be Shopping Day.

Warmest regards, Ed

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How does peppermint tea get its brown color; and, how does one process lots of garlic?

  1. beetleypete says:

    These garlic peelers are highly recommended here. I don’t have one yet, but I really should get one!

    As for commercial mint tea, the man from China is correct. It is mint mixed with other teas, hence the brown colour.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Like

    • Thank you Pete. I bought one of those garlic peeler tubes yesterday. They work. I guess my problem is I expect more of “easy” than just easy as I have well over 1,000 cloves to process.
      I checked the commercial, peppermint tea boxes and they all say 100% pure peppermint. It did not get much more than a hint of color from my first tea ball experiment. hen I decided to weigh the leaves. I had far too little weight and the resulting tea was very weak. Then too, I suspect the color made my mind think it was weaker than it really was. So, I am redoing the experiment with the proper weight. Still, I can see that leaves that are not cut up can still be more difficult to infuse than if I chop them up like them come in the commercial bags. I’ll let you know tomorrow if I get color and flavor, or have to chop up the leaves.

      Like

Leave a Reply

