Yesterday Morning Was A Long Morning

Good Morning Ted and Jody:

Yesterday was a long morning.  I got up a bit early, around 2:30.  I wanted to check the tomatoes on the dehydrator as I had some nearly finished larger cut ones that were close to dry when I went to bed.  I checked.  About 2/3rds of a tray was dry the remaining 1/3rd took another 8 hours.  When they finished, I started some more apples: Braeburn .  I am putting up dried apples by variety: Honey Crisp, Jonagold, Gala, Granny Smith, Cortland, and Fuji so far.  They actually do taste slightly different even dried.  I have close to a peck sack full of dried apples in vacuum packed servings of 3 apples each.  After checking the tomatoes, I checked my email.  I got the note from the coil buyer.  So, I answered his note.  As you know I incorporated his note and my reply into my daily letter to you.  I just had time to clean up a bit and trundle off to Longview for breakfast at MickyDee before my 7:30 appointment with the nurse practitioner at the dermatology practice.  From dermatology I went to the building supply and got 25 patio blocks (12 inches X 12 inches X 2 inches of concrete blocks that the assemblers will need for leveling tomorrow to put up the storage shed we bought a couple of weeks ago.

The nurse practitioner at the dermatology practice found two suspicious moles on my back she wants to check again in 6 months.  I suspect these are the two that Juli and Nancy have mentioned in the past few months.  The spot where the cancerous mole was removed from my forehead looks good.

Doing something about the weeds on the periphery now that Frank has them pushed back is in order.  Picking up the patio blocks this morning has given me an idea of using patio blocks to make a walk and weed barrier around the periphery of my lot. At $40 for 25 square feet for the blocks it just might be economical to buy a few hundred patio blocks and a load of sand to make that walk/barrier.  I will think on it for a bit.

A month or so ago, Nancy purchased an Amazon echo voice control  http://www.qvc.com/Amazon-Tap-Portable-Bluetooth-Speaker-with-Voice-Control.product.E229493.html?sc=E229493-User&cm_sp=VIEWPOSITION-_-2-_-E229493&catentryImage=http://images.qvc.com/is/image/e/93/e229493.001?$uslarge$

She set it up in the kitchen and uses it to add items to her shopping list.  It does a whole lot more.  She has asked it for information about things and it will even play NPR on demand.  She got this from QVC.  To activate it one simply says Alexa and gives a command such as “Alexa put peanuts on the shopping list.”  The device responds by saying “I put peanuts on the shopping list.”  We added an Alexa app on our smart phones. This puts the shopping list on the smart phone.  So can forget the shopping list (unless there is a power outage or the sky falls).  We go shopping and check off items on the smartphone with no paper to throw-a-way or pencil to lose.

Yesterday morning, while I was in my computer room computing, I heard the device say “I put wine on the shopping list.”  I had my hearing aids in but did not hear Nancy tell the device to put wine on the shopping list.  A few seconds later Nancy came into the room laughing.  QVC was presenting Alexa for a special price.  In the presentation, the host demonstrated by telling Alexa to put wine on the shopping list.  While the television is in the TV room and the device is in the kitchen, our device heard and responded.  It put wine on the shopping list.  Later in the presentation the host demonstrated how to ask Alexa questions.  Apparently our Alexa did not quite hear the question so responded “Sorry, I couldn’t find the answer to your question.”  I guess I am not the only one around here who needs hearing aids.

When I was a kid we, the children, did not have these fancy devices to add items to the shopping list, change the television volume or channel, or answer the phone without moving.  No, we didn’t.  However, our parents did. Dad would point to one of us “Change the channel to 12.”  Or, “Get the phone.”  Or, “Put that on the shopping list”.  They had plain and perhaps more expensive devices, us.  When we grew up our children, darlings all, were not as able to perform such miracles as adding items to the shopping list, changing the channel or getting up to answer the phone, so we were forced to invent Alexa, remotes, and smart phones so we would not have to get up from the couch to do those things any longer.  After all, we are all grown up, adults,  and following from our parent’s examples from long ago we know  those task are NOT performed by adults.

Warmest regards, Ed

PS The photo was taken at Lion’s Park, Castle Rock, WA on the Cowlitz River between fronts (rain events) in the middle of the afternoon.

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in devices, medical stuff, yard work. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yesterday Morning Was A Long Morning

  1. beetleypete says:

    I’m sticking with pen and paper for my list. I’m a ‘holdout’!
    I like the curve on that panorama, Theo. Very effective.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. Yesterday was a great day for clouds in the hour between fronts.
      I got to thinking. By not using paper for lists, we no longer reuse the backs of envelopes. However, since I have a separate shopping list for my “activities,” I use paper and pencil for them and that paper is the backs of envelopes. I also have a list for Nancy and household stuff on the refrigerator so Alexa won’t learn my voice.

      Like

  2. Even though I’m a techaholic, I still use pen & paper too for the shopping, but I’m liking the sound of this alexa thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

