A Short Note

Dear Ted and Jody:

I turned my Note 7 in yesterday for an Edge 7.  It is too early for me to tell if it has as good a camera.  With the rain, it could be a day (this is the Pacific Northwest, so that “day” could turn out to be a “week”) or two.

Yesterday was our 21st Anniversary.  We went the McGrath’s, a fish house, in Vancouver for dinner.  I asked the teen in the family seated next to us to shoot our picture.20161012_181857 email.jpg  Then that family had me reciprocate.  I am never sure why we go there, as everything except the fish is questionable (either cold or “interestingly” prepared). But, I do know why; Nancy likes it.

I did not hear any news yesterday from around 8:00 A.M. until this morning at 4:00 A.M.  It was a nice break.  The news this morning, both on CNN and my new Edge 7 is about Trump: women and Russia.  It is almost as if one could call it “From Russia with Lust.”  The Russian angle is if Clinton is elected there will be Nuclear War and Trump is the only way for peace or so says a Russian who is their version of Trump.  I think I will go back to not watching the news.  It was so much less stressful.

Warmest regards, Ed

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Short Note

  1. Lovely portrait of you both! I am not a fan of the Samsung phones, I once tried a Galaxy note 2, and whilst the camera was great, I found it much more of a faff to use than my iPhone so back I went when the contract ran out. Quite glad I did now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I am thinking Nancy will need to get a stand in next time to make the whole portrait nice. Then too that way I can take the photo.
      I suspect each of us prefers what we are used to using. Getting an android phone was easy since I already was used to the system from a tablet. However, getting used to the android after being used to the Windows operating system on my computer was initially awkward. And, to this day, I prefer to do actual work such as writing or processing images on a “real” computer where I know where all the bells and whistles are and how to use them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I get where you’re coming from, I like my iphone and Ipad, but the real stuff goes on the 27″ mac. I’m not one of those tribal people who are all mac v windows, ( my work laptop is windows) but I just got used to what I have and on the PC things are much easier.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you for the kind words.
        I have lots of cameras ranging from 35 MM DSLRs through compact ones back to 4X5 film press cameras. I have lots of lenses for them. Indeed, I use different cameras and lenses for different purposes: macros of flowers and bugs, telephotos for osprey on nests, medium format through the lens cameras for sports action, and video cameras for sunrise and sun sets. I have found the world of back of the camera (cell phone) for composition challenging and fun. So, my smart phone purchase decision is made largely by the camera the phone sports. The rest of the functions are a remote secondary consideration. I have been amazed at the improvement in quality of smart phone cameras. They have impressed me more than most of the compacts and changes in the larger DSLR world. While I carry camera cases, tripods and extra lenses in the boot of the car for a minimum of three cameras, it is so much more of a challenge to attempt to take the photos at hand with the smart phone. I guess you could say I am paying with the smart phone cameras.

        Like

  2. beetleypete says:

    Nice shot, Theo. Congratulations on your 21 years.
    My best wishes to you and Nancy.
    Pete.

    Like

Leave a Reply

