Burnt Tomatoes and Warped Dehydrator Equipment

Good Morning Ted and Jody:

Yesterday I put a load of 89₵/pound tomatoes on the dehydrator to dry.  I took photographs to document the process to show how easy and mess free it is.(1) They take 12 to 18 hours to dry.  As is my custom (or perhaps an obsessive compulsive habit not to leave things alone) I checked them after about 6 hours.  I found the thermostat on the unit had gone out to lunch or died and the batch was overheated and burned to a crisp.  The plastic sheets used to make the tomatoes easy to remove from the trays were cooked and distorted and even the top few trays were warped from the heat.  It does not make for a pretty picture. 20161022_043236 email.jpg I bought the unit in 2008, so it has had a good run.  None-the-less, I will send the firm a note as they need to know they may have a problem, nowhere near the scale of Samsung’s problem with its phones, washers and the like catching fire, but a problem none-the-less.

I have written to large companies in the past and find their responses less than satisfactory.  My letters generally get shunted off to flunkies who do not make enough money for them to have a vested interest in the success of the firm but enough money for them to want to make more.  So, those flunkies take a diplomatic, non-committal line of how the company has its consumers’ interests at their core.  However, if one reads between the lines, they aren’t going to do a damn thing about the issue I raise for it is too small and I am too insignificant for them to bother.  Besides, they are so big they can afford to piss off one consumer who is less than 0.001% likely to take the matter further as it is not worth the consumer’s time, effort and electricity to send an email, much less a paltry 47₵ for a postage stamp (soon to be back to 49₵ if the United States Post Office Corporation’s request for an increase is granted by the Postal Rate Commission).

So, I have been giving a lot of thought of late to starting a blog entitled “Dear Corporate America and Non-American Corporations doing business in the US”.  I have about five corporations in mind for initial letters.  What I am thinking is I would send the corporation a letter and wait for their response.  Then, without editorial comment, publish the letter and the corporate response.  Over time, perhaps a few other folks with issues will get the drift of my blog and perhaps even submit letters and responses of their own that I could run in the blog.  But, even if I am alone in the project, I trust Corporate America to give me more fodder than I alone could handle for the blog.  Then too, you know me I can make a big deal out of attempting to find the proper olives to buy.  Of course, it is entirely possible that one of more corporations will give me something positive to say about them (or am I smoking something funny again?).
What do you think?
Warmest regards, Ed

  1. I will save the photographs of the process for when I get more cheap tomatoes and can finish the photographic documentary of turning perfectly good tomatoes in to dust (tomato powder for using instead of tomato paste or sauce). Given how late in the tomato season (the frost has killed them all north of the Mason Dixon Line) it could be next summer before that documentary is finished.

 

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in correspondence, photographs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Burnt Tomatoes and Warped Dehydrator Equipment

  1. beetleypete says:

    Lucky you checked after six hours, Theo!
    As for the ‘Dear Sir…’ (Corporate America blog, I think you are on to something there.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Like

  2. Should have got that liquidiser 😀 😀

    Like

  3. What and have a flood? Seriously, it had to happen sooner or later that it, like all other things, would go “blewey”. Fortunatley, I have a spare.

    Like

Leave a Reply

