Medical Condition Update, Clouds and other Stuff

Dear Ted and Jody:

While I am in no way as bad a shape as the Jeff Bridges character in the 1974 movie, Thunderbolt and Lightfoot, got after he took a beating that eventually resulted in his death; the road to recovery after falling down the other day makes me appreciate his portrayal of a man who has suffered a physical trauma and wants to continue normally despite it.  Bridges’ portrayal of unsteady walking, dropping things and fumbling with things is most accurate (and remember I saw the movie once some decades ago when it finally showed up on television in the days when we first had HBO on Coe Road after installing a huge dish in one of the gardens).  The mind wants to do things and the trauma to the body fights the doing.

Nancy was still concerned about the damage done to my toes since I am a diabetic.  I have a blood blister on one and I think she is afraid it is going to break and I am going to bleed all over the place.  So, she called the doctor yesterday morning and we both talked to the nurse on speaker phone.  I fear the nurse confirmed Nancy’s worst fears.  So yesterday afternoon I accused her of shopping for rubber socks in Target when she claimed she was looking for a birthday card for one of her granddaughters.  I could tell from the expression on her face that she was thinking “why didn’t I think of that.”  I am guessing I am sleeping with a bred wrapper of other plastic bag over than foot until blister either breaks or the body reabsorbs the blood in that blister. She slips the plastic bag on my foot after I have gone to sleep and takes if off me just before I wake up.  I just know that is what she did last night since she makes me wear rubber boot during the day when I am in the house or car.

When the nurse asked if I used a walker or a can for stability, I finally realized why people use canes.  They carry them as a third point to stop a potential fall.  Those canes with three-pronged rubber tips now make a great deal of sense to me.  Do you suppose I could find a cane that would be useful in crawling rocks and boulders to get to a better vantage point for taking a shot in predawn?  If this last question doesn’t underscore what a great job I think Bridges did in that movie, I have got to be more pointed.

However, I am moving about just fine.  Indeed, this morning, I processed 5 pounds of mandarin oranges in my quest to dehydrate everything.  This is the second batch using segments rather than traditional circular slices.  The first batch did not do well as they took forever to begin to dry out and then they still are moist inside to the point of providing a growing medium for all sorts of microscopic critters.  So this time I sliced each segment in half longways.  I have hopes this will begin to mimic the commercially processed ones I got at Costco some weeks ago (that I like so well and that they no longer seem to carry).  As a side note, I only found four seeds in the entire dozen or so mandarin oranges I processed.  How does that species reproduce?  Anyway, I was on my feet for well over 90 minutes and didn’t even teeter, stumble, or drop anything, much less fall.  (But, it is time for a nap, now,)

Yesterday started out and ended with sunshine, while the sun was up.  Nancy remarked that it was the first day this October that it didn’t rain.  I did get a shot or two during the day. 20161028_141911 ns email.jpg 20161028_142656 ns emai.jpgSince there were clouds moving in from the Pacific, we decided to go up into the Cascades and see if we could get some color at sundown.  The color was sparse as the front was moving in too quickly.  However, I did take a few shots.  20161028_1755 2 v shot Panorama ns email.jpg20161028_175144 c ns email.jpg20161028_180038 c ns email.jpgThen before I settled down for the night, I thought I heard rain.  Yes, we got a trace of rain, 0.04 inch of rain, before 10:00 P.M.  There goes the only day in October we didn’t get any rain.  If it is any consolation to Nancy, it is going on 6:30 A.M. and it hasn’t rained today, YET.

Warmest regards, Ed

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in clouds, medical stuff, Old Age, photographs, weather and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Medical Condition Update, Clouds and other Stuff

  1. This dehydration thingy doesn’t seem to be going so well, but at least you are on the mend and taking some marvellous landscapes. Also you might take comfort in the Clint Eastwood Movie Gran Torino, a much better prospect than the Jeff Bridges one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you. I have often marveled at how in cyber space everyone reports stunning successes and never a misstep or failure. My friend Juli commented just last week, “Did you ever notice everyone on Facebook is leading a perfect life?” Unlike those folks, somethings the things I do don’t go all that well. However, I do seem to learn a bit from each burned tray of tomatoes, and each “not quite so dry” tray of mandarin oranges. So, on balance, I “sense” some progress (still wish Costco still carried the dried mandarin oranges).
    I am delighted you like the landscapes.
    I haven’t seen Gran Torino yet, does someone in it take a beating and live?
    Best wishes, Ed

    Like

  3. beetleypete says:

    I hope that toe calms down soon. You can buy a walking stick that has a camera attachment. That would help you keep steady, and provide ‘monopod’ stability for camera shots too.
    http://www.wexphotographic.com/buy-camlink-cmp1-walking-stick-monopod/p1520982?pcrid=112338928021&mkwid=zh4fndht_dc&gclid=cmaqku-xgnacfasy0wod5qyonw
    The landscapes look great. The blue skies are sumptuous.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

