Feeling Older than I am or Ought to Feel

Good Morning Ted and Jody:

Yesterday was one of those days that was just “blah.”  OK, it was a bit worse than that.  I could feel the plight of people stuck in warehouses (nursing homes and the like).  I would not have wanted to be parked focusing on the various aches and to pains I feel and only having a television set with all the upsetting news (the campaign coverage) to distract me feeling as I was.  I would think what would be a cross between an invitation to end it all and a violation of my 8th Amendment rights not to be cruelly and unusually punished for the crime of aging.

Fortunately, I had a stamp order to fill which gave me an excuse to go to the post office.  Since Nancy was teaching a class, I had to be ready to join her for lunch sometime after her class and before her lab work for her forthcoming hip replacement. Fortunately, I had a backlog of images taken to process, so I planned to processed images until she called.  But I didn’t wait for her call.  Instead I felt the clouds calling and took an hour to get to town with all the stops to document the clouds (actually add them to my inventory of images, I love it when there is a change of the guard in weather fronts.  They put on as nice a show as the Guards when they change at Queens small London abode). I still have that backlog.20161102_115343 ns email.jpg While the ground clutter I have mentioned before is in full display,  I had to  capture the clouds.20161102_1207 2v shots Panorama ns v2 email.jpgThis is facing away from Silver Lake  at about the 9 mile marker on WA 504, and20161102_120135 ns email.jpg this is facing Silver Lake and shooting into the sun.  Finally,20161102_141906 ns email.jpg one could see Mt. St. Helens down by the Information Center near the 5 mile marker on WA 504.

Since Nancy finished  teaching at 12:45 and her lab appointment was for 1:30; that was a narrow time window; so, we had a narrow lunch. After lunch, I stopped for more cloud formations as the formal ceremony of changing fronts was still going on.  (I will send some of those later, but for now they are part of my backlog.) When I got home, I had planned to set up a light in the shed and put a compost bin together.  It has been sitting in the shed since it arrived the evening before I decided to have diving practice in the garage in the early morning hours on Wednesday.  I didn’t get out there; but, that means I still have a project I can putz at today (unless there is a command performance of front changes I will need to attend with camera) and perhaps for a week to come.   That is one of two small projects for which I needed the drill. The other is to install a solar light in the shed.   I am somewhat surprised at how little of the final gardening work I can actually do and need to put off for a dry day (not to mention a day when my muscles are actually working and not screaming at me to take drugs, heavy duty narcotic drugs [they really are quite insistent]).  I am more surprised that I did as much gardening type clean up not more than a week ago on a daily basis without giving it a second’s thought.  I find that when I get busy at something, I forget to notice the little irritants called feet and limbs that seem to want to hurt all the time.

So, I stayed busy until bed time.  Fortunately, usually I am able to fall asleep before the aches and pains are able to break through my consciousness and I am good until morning.  (The varied dreams I have also keep me busy when I am asleep).

The election campaign is upsetting; it gives me heart burn.  I know I have addressed this before, but, Ted, our profession, political scientists and civics teachers, has utterly failed to break through the distorted beliefs and erroneous notions that people have about what the Constitution says and what this government should be about—we the people, all the people.  I cannot think of how we could have better refuted racial superiority notions to explain equality to our former students (and since we were at a primarily teaching college, the teachers of elementary and secondary school students).  I cannot imagine how we could have more successfully countered the notions of “me” above community.  I cannot imagine how we could have more clearly answered the notions of “freedom for MY religion.”  But, somewhere and somehow, we should have done a better job.

A week from yesterday, the day after the election, slightly less than ½ of the voting public is going to be pissed off.  I do hope and pray that this upset minority remembers some of what their formal training in government and politics presented about the peaceful transfer of power and acceptance of the majority will.  Heaven knows the rest of the lessons did not seem to take. Regardless, I am not looking forward to being warehoused under either candidate’s regime for we still have the failure of our profession to thank for the way we will be warehoused.  Then there is the movement toward more and more paperwork to cover the lack of attention and medical assistance actually given and for which the insurance companies pay.  The insurance companies seem willing to pay if lots of paper is involved.  But, I am getting off on a very long tangent.  So, I will close instead of going on a tirade (for now) against all the paperwork used to cover everyone’s behind except the patient’s.

Warmest regards, Ed

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in clouds, community, education, medical stuff, Old Age, photographs, political. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Feeling Older than I am or Ought to Feel

  1. beetleypete says:

    The documentation of your changing weather continues to be very interesting, Theo. And I always enjoy seeing Mount St. Helens in the photos, as it is impressive indeed. (As long as it doesn’t blow up again…)
    We have some election news today. That should read referendum news, but it’s similar enough. Those who lost the vote have now forced the case into the High Court. They have won a judicial ruling that the right to leave the EU must be debated and ‘agreed’ by parliament. They will argue that we can only leave if we can negotiate a good enough deal, which they will probably never decide is good enough, As most of the members of parliament wanted to stay in the EU, I foresee lots of arguments ahead.
    So much for the Democratic Process in the UK.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The thing is you have a constitutional monarchy. We have a republic. Neither is a democracy. However, we have elements of democratic processes, to whit voting in both our countries for representative in legislative and executive bodies. Here in the state governments even the judges are elected. I suspect in both countries everyone likes to think they live in a democracy until things go in a direction different from what they think the direction a democracy should go. In both countries we live under a rule of law. Some of those laws are rules of the game and once in a while one of those rules gets up and bites us. There is an old Chinese curse “May you live in interesting times.” My friend, we both live in both interesting times and interesting countries.
      Hang in there, Theo

      Like

  2. Magnificent cloud formations, especially that first one! I don’t think you should blame yourself for not teaching the students well enough, you can lead a horse to water but can’t make it drink, and even if it did it’s quite capable of spitting it back out. I am beginning to think Ted is a real person, but he never replies to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for your kind comments. Yes, I just had to take as much of that cloud formations as I could.
    I may not be realistic; however, someone has to begin to take responsibility for the messes we are in politically. As a species, homo sapiens seem to be particularly adept at not seeing what is wrong and then blaming someone else. So, perhaps I can’t do much, but I can at least take the wrap and try.
    Ted and Jody are real. They are old friends. Ted was a colleague and retired the same time I did. He is a bit older than I. He has health issues that began five or six years ago that caused me to start daily letters to him as he lives 2200 miles away and visits were not feasible. Besides, letters he can take or leave, visitors he has to put up with regardless of how he feels. He calls occasionally, and sends notes via snail mail. When he is in remission and good shape they come on visits. They have been here twice in four years. He had not quite entered the 20th Century when he retired in 1998. He has trouble seeing. His fingers don’t work all that well; so, his using digital medium is not a likely transition. Since Jody has a tablet and email, I send the letters to her in a large font. She prints them for him. She hooks the tablet to the large screen television so he can see the photos. I do make a few changes in the letters I post to make it more difficult to pin down where they live. I also make a few other changes to protect the identities of some of the people I write to Ted and Jody about. Otherwise, the posts are what I bill them as “letters to old friends who live far away.” I write to them every day with very few exceptions.
    Ed

    Like

Leave a Reply

