The Morning After

Good Morning Ted and Jody:

I had some difficulty getting to sleep last night; and then, I had difficulty staying asleep.  I am very surprised at how the election outcome hit me and keeps on hitting me.  I have no sense that the winner has any idea of what he is actually going to do, permitted under the Constitution to do, or can do.  His campaign promises are not suggestive of a program or a path.  They were too broad and general and designed to appeal to the unhappy.    Then too, there is the sinking feeling that I am living in 1930 to 1933 Germany all compressed into one night.  The reason for that feeling is the white American males have collectively risen and there is absolutely nothing anyone can do to mitigate their decision and the very probable consequences.  You see, a good proportion of that electoral base does indeed harbor what they call politically incorrect beliefs and they harbor them very dearly.  Do not get me wrong, it is entirely possible the winning candidate will do a job that is consistent with the printed values of our founding documents.  Note, that I am not betting on that.  I rather suspect we are in for a very rocky ride and I hope we are able to survive it.

I have those feelings for as a, supposedly trained political scientist, I have no idea of how to take any action or pattern of actions that can move things in a more positive or less destructive direction.  There is a midterm two years off.  The only thing I see at this point is to attempt to ensure that election is held in the traditional manner—fairly and openly with all allowed to participate.

Yesterday we had a bright sunny day with clouds moving in late; clouds that one could photograph.  So, I went out about sunset (it was early before dinner) and shot the display.

Warmest regards, Ed20161108_1640 5vshots Panorama ns email.jpg It is interesting to see the way the photo-merge routine  put the several shots together with some fuzziness in a couple of spots and truncation.

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in photographs, political. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Morning After

  1. beetleypete says:

    Sorry the election result has left you glum, Theo.
    At least you managed a very interesting photo, despite the news.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is a beautiful photograph, the sky is lovely. I found this poem on another persons blog today
    In the dark of the moon, in flying snow,
    in the dead of winter,
    war spreading, families dying, the world in danger,
    I walk the rocky hillside, sowing clover.

    (Wendell Berry)

    I think sowing clover means taking photo’s. I hope it’s not as bad as we think it will be with The Donald in charge :/ Over the pond here we’ve talked about nothing else and it’s not even our business! Except it will be no doubt at some point. Putin must be rubbing his hands in glee and getting ready to expand his empire. I wonder if USA will ever be land of the free and home to the brave ever again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. The neat thing about poems is one poem can have many meanings and contexts.
      I have not turned on the news since I learned of our national folly last night. I cannot tolerate all the pointless speculation any longer. I need a break from that. One can only hope our national folly does not lead in the directions the campaign suggested.
      Again, thank you. Ed

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The thought of the new President-Elect seems surreal and disheartening – but what is more disheartening to me is the 46.7% of eligible voters in our country did not go to the polls. Stunning. When we have that much hopelessness attached to our elections, civic ignorance rears its ugly head.
    We must look forward to the midterms in 2018 with more enthusiasm than usual and try to bring the balance of power back in balance.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Eddy Winko says:

    Impressive sunset, well captured.
    I have yet to find a positive comment about Trump on the blogs I follow. Not sure if that is an indication of anything.

    Like

    • Thank you.
      Let us hope all the non-positive comments you read in the blogs you follow do not indicate a less than bright future. Those of us making the non-positive comments about Trump hope to hell our fears are wrong.
      Ed

      Like

Leave a Reply

