An Elephant Hunt for Thanksgiving Dinner to avoid having Turkey Leftovers

Good Morning Ted and Jody:

Your Thanksgiving Card arrived.  Thank you.  Last night, Nancy asked me what I was going to do for Thanksgiving.  The question caught me off guard, for normally she is here for Thanksgiving and we never make a big deal out of it.  One year we had Sarah’s family down. But that was long ago.  Occasionally we cook a small Turkey, but it takes 12 years for us to finish the leftovers.  One can get tired of leftover Turkey in 12 years.  OK, so that is a bit of an exaggeration, but only a bit.  So, on careful reflection I told her I was going to buy a BB gun and go hunting for an elephant and have deep fried elephant ears on a bun this Thanksgiving.  She had heard the joke and asked me where I was going to get a bun big enough for elephant ears.   That is good she remembered that old joke, for it saves me the embarrassment of buying BB gun, getting dressed up and tramping around in the woods only to be accosted by a Conservation Officer demanding to see my hunting permit to take an elephant (as few elephants, none, as I have seen in the woods around here, I suspect they are locally endangered).  Besides, how would I ever get the elephant home if I actually shot one (more likely, if I shot it with a BB gun, it would chase me home and stamp on our house until it was flat;  for, getting hit with a BB stings like the dickens. I am sure it would be highly irritated, if not royally pissed off).  So, back to the planning board for what to do on Thanksgiving.

In the meantime, we are having an epidemic of cloud changes caused by multiple fronts moving through the area.  20161121_081405 ns email.jpgYesterday we had three fronts.  I am afraid to go outside and look.  Every time I look outside a new scene presents itself. 20161121 1103 5v shot Panorama ns email.jpgThe problem with that is I am addicted to taking photographs of cloud formations.  For some reason, I cannot help myself.  Yesterday, I left the house on a purely innocent run to the post office and county department of water with a stop at the grocery store planned.  Five hours later and 500 some shutter releases, I got bay home only to have to go back to the lake shore for another dozen or so image captures. 20161121_080725 ns email.jpgWhen I told Nancy about the number of images I had captures, she asked when I had time to look at them.  My God, that would take forever.   Maybe if I only looked out after dark I could beat this.

I did, however, manage to bake a mincemeat pie.  That should keep me in the house for a bit.20161121_143220 email.jpg

Warmest regards, Ed

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in clouds, photographs, weather and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Elephant Hunt for Thanksgiving Dinner to avoid having Turkey Leftovers

  1. The photos are great but that pie looks delicious and much more PC than an elephant 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. The pie is good. Mincemeat is one of the ones I can never seem to find in restaurants (or the frozen pie section in groceries for that matter). So, I put a can of mincemeat (actually no meat in it) in a prepared crust and bake away.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. beetleypete says:

    You took more images in one day, than I do on a holiday! Well done.
    The mincemeat pie looks tasty. I would happily join you for half of that!
    I was also very happy to hear that you didn’t harm any elephants…
    (But I have never heard the joke.)
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It has been fifty years or more since I heard it. But, the Joke goes something like this:
      A man took his wife to a restaurant for dinner. The menu stated “If we can’t serve it you get $100.” That was all. No listing of dinners no prices.
      So the man said to his wife, “Watch me get that $100.”
      When the waiter came to take their order, the man ordered an elephant ear on a bun.
      After a few minutes the waiter came back and handed the man $100.
      The Man asked, “No elephant ears?”
      The waiter replied. “No, we have plenty of elephant ears, for they are very popular these days. We are out of buns.”

      Like

  3. Eddy Winko says:

    I had to smile as I didn’t think anyone new the elephant ears joke (on toast in the version I have in my head) I am still waiting until my daughter is old enough to understand it before I pass it on to the next generation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

