A Big Thank You to fragglerocking for the Suggestion

Good Morning Ted and Jody:

I have spent the better part of my photographic forays since I said I would look for overhead wire subjects to photograph.  I have rejected them all.  However, fragglerocking suggested I try for birds on wires.  I knew where some occasionally congregated so I shot this image yesterday:20161201_093519 exrt nas email.jpg  . Then I zoomed in and after the shot messed with the sky and pole to produce this:20161201_093608 ns email v2.jpg So, I owe fragglerocking a big thank you for her suggestion.    However, despite much pleading and promises of bird seed, I could not get most of the birds to turn around and face the camera.  Pigeons can be so stubborn.

I have seen photographs of the late 19th Century and early 20th Century which were overwhelmed with overhead wires and because they were a glimpse at an earlier time, the wires, while still ugly, did not detract from the image or its messages.  Modern overhead wires, I guess need to be antiques before they become “photographable.”  None-the-less I will keep up my quest for wire photos—I need the challenge.

Yesterday I awoke to driving rain.  I switched on the television and the weather lady said “It is going to be dry most of the day except for local showers.”  I guess I live in “the local” where showers were to occur yesterday, for it rained here most of the day.  However, I am happy others got a break in the wet spell we are having (winter).

I have put off chores for as long as I can.  I have to get to them today for I pick up Nancy at PDX tonight.

Warmest regards, Ed

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in chit chat, photographs, weather. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Big Thank You to fragglerocking for the Suggestion

  1. beetleypete says:

    Talking of overhead wires, Pylons can make good subjects, as they vary so much in design.
    There is even a pylon society in the UK.
    http://www.pylons.org/exhibition/
    http://www.gorge.org/pylons/
    And I photographed one in Kent!
    https://beetleypete.wordpress.com/2015/09/15/a-not-so-country-country-park/
    Well done with the birds, Theo.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Like

  2. Eddy Winko says:

    The last minute chore dash, a male condition that we have to carry throughout our lives.
    Like the birds on a wire.

    Like

  3. Glad to be of service, cracking result, especially like the processing on the close up, it looks like an embossed piece of metal art. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

