Cookie Cutter Days and The Case File Grows: 20th in the Amanda Saga

Good Morning Ted and Jody:

The days sort of run together so it is difficult to tell one from the other.  Were it not for mail coming or not, different weather patterns, scheduled appointments and the Nancy’s PT and nurse visits the days would be indistinguishable.  I suppose when we can return to our going out to lunch every day pattern, there will also be variation in who cooks and puts together our hamburgers (one guy tends to put water on them when he adds the re-hydrated, dehydrated onions, while one puts the pickles on the bottom instead of top.  Accordingly, to have a dry hamburger bun,  Nancy has them served pain with the condiments on the side, thus canceling out that daily variation).  I guess it is good that the mail lady gets two Mondays off in a row,  but even the holidays seem to be just more cookie cutter days.

However, the sun, clouds and lake do not fit the cookie cutter pattern.  Yesterday morning about 30 minutes after sunrise.  I got this.20161226_081638 c ns email.jpg  Then 10 miles away I got the This.20161201_094306 email.jpg Fortunately for me there is a great deal of variety in photo opportunities close to home.  Then too, as you know, I make up stuff.  For example, I am attaching the 20th installment of the Amanda Sagas.

Add some variety to your day.  Then let me know what it is so I can do it too.

Warmest Regards, Ed

20 The Case File Grows

Fiction in 1393 words by T. Edward Westen, 2016

  

Detective Mohamad Batan seemed engrossed in reading a report on his computer screen when Detective Eddie Philipson entered the squad room.  He walked over, put down the two cups of coffee he was carrying. “These beat the hell out of what comes out of that,”  Detective Philipson said pointing to the squad coffee percolator. “What do you have; did the butler do it?”

 Detective Batan looked up, saw the coffee and said, “Thanks.  No, the autopsy report came through.  I’m printing it now for the case file as I read it.”

 “My Dad told me that when he was a kid those things” said Detective Philipson pointing to the computer screen, “were going to save trees.  However, I’d wager paper stock has soared since he first heard that.”

 Detective Batan gave a little chortle, “I do my bit.” Pointing to the screen,  “The report says he went over without assistance.  He has bruising on the front of his thighs consistent with striking the parapet.  No other recent marks to incite he was in an altercation of any sort.”

Detective Philipson looking over his shoulder, “What about the tox screen?”

 Detective Batan running his finger down the screen, “Clean.”  The Detective looked up at his partner.  “The one funny thing is the corner sates the Judge was ‘in excellent health and shape for a man in his early 30s.’”

 “Yah, so?”  Said Detective Philipson.

 “Judge Belemany was on the bench I when I came on the force some 20 years ago.  No one gets on the bench in their early teens, no one.” Said Detective Batan.

 “So,” said Detective Philipson, “in addition to finding out why the Judge wanted to kill Edith Gunderson, we need to find out where he got a body 20 to 30 years younger than he should be?  Grand theft body?”

“OK,” Said Batan “Let’s work on the plausible question first.  Why did he want to kill Gunderson.”

 “Cases are the best possible lead. Perhaps we can get a list of cases from Ms. Gunderson which she was involved in that went through the Judge’s court?”  Said Detective Philipson.

 “Right, and any cases she was involved in that he signed off on warrants or the like.”  Added Detective Batan.  I’ll go down and talk to her while you start a computer search of the court’s records.

As Detective Batan got up to leave, his desk phone rang.  He picked it up. Detective Squad, Detective Batan speaking.”

 He listened for a couple of moments and then said “Great, send it up.”  He turned to Detective Philipson.  “Renee in Accounting says they may have some leads about that binder we sent the lab.  The report will be on the screen in a couple of minutes.  She will talk us though it on the phone.  Gunderson can wait.”

 Detective Philipson walked over to the squad coffee pot and tried to get something out, but it was, so to speak, dry as a bone.  He unplugged it and hauled it off to the mop closet where he could refill it with water, empty the grounds, and put a fresh filter and grounds in the basket.  He laughed out loud.

 Detective Batan asked, “What’s so funny Eddie?”

 “I was wondering if my wife saw me doing this she would give me hell for not washing the pot out better or praise me for doing something productive for a change.”

 Detective Batan chuckled, “I know what you mean.”

 Before Detective Philipson could wheel the coffee pot back and plug it in, the pone on Detective Batan’s desk rang again.  “Detective Squad, Detective Batan speaking.”  He listened for a few seconds, and said “I’m going to put you on speaker phone so my partner, Eddie Philipson can hear at the same time.”  Turning to his partner, “Eddie, say hi to Technical Officer Renee O’Brian.”

 Officer Philipson said “Hi Renee.  I’d offer you coffee, but it isn’t made yet.  Besides, it might clog up the phone wires, if I poured it in the mouth piece.”

 Technical Officer O’Brian replied “Thanks, but I am strictly green tea.  Mohamad, you still there?”

 “Yes, he missed me with the coffee, so I am still alive.  What have we got?” Asked Detective Batan.

 “The lists didn’t make sense until one of the guys pointed out they began with letters that looked like stock symbols. Are you looking at the first page I put up?”

 “Yes,” Replied both Detectives at the same time.

 “OK, fifth one down, ALY, stands for a corporation that dealt in alloy metals for about ten years.  The second and fourth sets of numbers are dates.  You read the date at the first four digits are the year and the last three the day of the year.  The third and fifth set of numbers are the closing prices for the respective dates that precede them.”  Explained Technical Officer O’Brian.

 “So, what does this have to do with the dead Judge.”  Asked Detective Philipson.

Detective Batan interjected, “Let me guess.”

 Technical Officer O’Brian’s voice through the speaker phone replied, “They represent trades the Judge made.”

“Yes,” Replied Technical Officer O’Brian. ”But there is more.  The prices for all the stocks we could identify were the stocks lowest close in column 3 and the stocks’ highest close in column 5 for 15 months.  Always, 15 months.”

 Detective Batan interrupted, “So there are two questions, why 15 months and what was he up to?”

 Technical Officer O’Brian replied.  “We can answer what he was up to.  He bought at the low and sold at the high.  The guy died worth close to a billion dollars.”  Technical Officer O’Brian hesitated.  “And that is just in his current cash and stock accounts.”

 Detective Philipson whistled through his teeth. “A billion bucks in a Judge’s current accounts.  Don’t tell me there is more.”

 “OK, I won’t, but you will kick yourself if I don’t.”  Replied Technical Officer O’Brian.

 Detective Batan said.  “I’ll kick him; that’s what senior partners are for.  Tell us.”

 Technical Officer O’Brian said “I have just put another page up on your screen.  Look down to the 12th item. Do you see, ITT?”

 Again, both detectives responded at the same time.  “Yes.”

 Technical Officer O’Brian asked, “and what is the date in the fourth column?”

 Detective Philipson said “Well, I’ll be a son . . .

 But, Detective Batan interrupted him, “Don’t finish that sentence, Eddie, there is a lady present.”  He pointed to the speaker phone.

 “I’m not only familiar with the expression, I use it myself.  Eddie is right.  Given all the ending stock prices we have checked by the dates given are correct, I’d wager my month’s pay check that is going to be the close for ITT in two-and-one-half hours when the market closes.”

 Both detectives and Technical Officer O’Brian on the other end of the phone were silent for what seemed an hour.

 After several seconds, Detective Batan pointed to the screen.  “All the dates in the fourth column on the remainder of this page are after today.”

 “Yes, and some of the symbols for second column dates in a year or so down the list are unknown to us.  Perhaps, new offerings in the future.”  Technical Officer O’Brian continued. “I think we have insider trading of some sort and should bring in the SEC and NY Attorney General.”

 “Renee, I think you are right. However, make backups of this info first, as once the SEC or Attorney General gets it, its availability to us much less use to us could go down the drain.” Detective Batan said.

 “Guys, about those technical drawing and papers, we think they are patents.  Will have better information on those this afternoon.”  Said Officer O’Brian over the speaker phone.  “And will make copies of those as well.  I suspect something bigger here.”

 “Thanks Renee.  We owe you big time.” Said Detective Batan.

 “No problem, just don’t pay up with coffee.”  She laughed.  “I will have a thumb drive down here for you in less time than you can say Jackie Robertson.”

 Detective Phillipson hit the disconnect on the desk phone about the same time the computer screen went blank. “I’m guessing we won’t be printing out what is on that thumb drive for the case file.”

 “You got that right.”  Detective Batan said with a look of dismay.

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in chit chat, fiction, Old Age, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cookie Cutter Days and The Case File Grows: 20th in the Amanda Saga

  1. beetleypete says:

    So the judge is some sort of 30-year old time traveller? Am I even warm? I am still thinking about the different colour dresses, and now I am hit with this! Great stuff as usual, Theo.
    The golden sunrise is a powerful image.
    Best wishes to you both. Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Pete. I am delighted you liked the sunrise shot. I really thought I got lucky with that one.
      Warm is too cool. If the dressed are to powerful, try the tune thing (but don’t blame me if you can’t get that out of your head).
      Warmest regards, Theo

      Like

  2. Eddy Winko says:

    So there must be multiple judges as well? Maybe our man from the bureau has a few more clues in his bureau!?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I figured economics has a multiplier effect, why not judges and little girls.
      The guy from the bureau, as you call him, is going to be a bit tricky to get fully into this story. Bureau . . . .
      Thank you, warmest regards, Ed

      Like

  3. This is becoming an epic! Lovely sunrise shot too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. The sunrise shot was lucky in the sense that this time of year we get a lot of rain. Indeed, when the television weather folks say “winter storm” at this altitude they mean rain. Higher it snows. So, breaks in the clouds to provide sunrise shots are rare for a few months. I am delighted you like the story too.
      Warmest regards, Ed

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

