New Vehicle & 35th In the Ama Saga: Detective Batan Calls Mrs. White

Good Morning Ted and Jody:

Yesterday morning while I was going out the door to my weekly talk session Nancy got a call that the vehicle we had decided upon back in July was at the dealer’s down in Vancouver and we could pick it up.  The weather folks had predicted snow and ice for early yesterday but that had no materialized so when I got back from my talk session at 1:00 P.M. we drove down to Vancouver to pick up the Honda Ridgeline RLT.  We stopped for a quick lunch on the way down so got there about 2:15.  We had put a deposit on the vehicle, about three months ago.  Yet, it took a full four hours once we got there to wait while they did the paper work for our signatures.   We even had to sign finance papers in case our check bounced—get real, call the bank and put a hold on the funds.  So, finally at 6:20 P.M. in the middle of the snow that was predicted for 18 hours earlier and what seemed like the height of rush hour traffic we headed for home in two cars—Nancy driving the Hyundai and I the Honda.  

Since it was late, and the traffic was heavy we did stop for a quick evening meal at a deserted restaurant (it seems everyone was intent on getting home and off the roads).  After a quick dinner, the trip resumed and traffic was much lighter as was the snow. Indeed, the closet we got to home the lighter and lighter the snowfall until about a mile or so from home there was none.  We got home about 9:00 P.M.

However, it must have hit here very shortly after we got home as by this morning we had about 4 inches of new snow.  Here is a shot of the rear end of the truck which was parked before the snow really began to fall and you can see that there is none under it and several inches around it. 20170111_084126.jpg

We had discussed before going down if we should take the Aztec and leave it there or take the Hyundai and she drive it back.  She insisted that she could drive back.  So, she did.  It would normally be about 59 miles.  However, she took one wrong turn in a snow squall so her trip was closer to 65 miles.  She had to get in and out of the car three times and reports no ill effects today after that adventure.  We were both dog tired when we got home last night.

As a consequence, the Amanda Saga only got a few hundred words added to it while I was waiting in the car dealership.  I am attaching those few words.

I only caught a few minutes of the pestilence-elect’s news conference this morning.  I did note that while he says he can run both his company and the country he was unable to put on a new conference where the questions from the media were audible.  I also note that the admonition from the 1940’s German Lutheran critic of Hitler is correct, one can’t argue with stupid for they are constitutionally unable to deal with reason, evidence, or even coherent thought.  So, this tells me we need a better strategy than reason, evidence and coherent thought as we go into this 4 years of a min-dark age or it won’t only be 4 years.

I hope this finds you healthy and warm.

Warmest regards, Ed

035 Detective Batan Calls Mrs. White (Note this segment is an extension of segment 34)

Fiction in 404 words by T. Edward Westen, 2017

Special Agent Fleischmann held his hand out to stop Detective Bayan from following the others to Edith Gunderson office.  “I’ am a bit confused about the Amanda White patent in the Judge’s files.  I think it would be a good idea for me to interview her and the other ladies.”

“OK.  But why?”  Asked Detective Batan.

“I noticed that the patent in the Judge’s paper files is in two names.”  Replied Special Agent Fleischmann.   “Amanda White and Amanda White.” 

Detective Batan nodded.  “Yes.  When I interviewed her she told me about the second Amanda White-another woman going to school with her had the same name.”

“I suspected as much.”  Said Special Agent Fleischmann. “I am going to have to do a rather extensive look at, shall we say, The Amanda’s, before I can wrap this up as I suspect they are time travelers too.  I will need to see what impact they may have had on the future.  It would probably be easier for them if you introduced me, sort-of laid some groundwork.   Then I wouldn’t have to take each of them to the coffee shop for hot chocolate with marshmallows.   If you follow me.”

Detective Batan laughed out loud.  “What’s the matter.  Having to let your belt out?”

Special Agent Fleishman thought for a minute, patted his stomach.  “You know that stuff is good.  But, actually an introduction would make it easier for the ladies.” He paused for a moment. “And easier for me.”

Detective Batan reached into his jacket pocket ad pulled out his cell phone.  After scrolling through a list of numbers he punched one and waited.  “Mrs. White . . . Detective Batan here.  . . I would like to drop by with a colleague to ask some more questions.  . . . No problems.  .  . It might help us untangle the late Judge’s mischief.  . .  What time would be good for you?  . . . Now?”  Detective Batan looked at Special Agent Fleishman.

Special Agent Fleishman nodded and quietly said “Tell her to meet us at her front door in 2 minutes.”

Detective Batan spoke into the phone relaying what Special Agent Fleishman said.  “We will be at your front door in 2 minutes.”  He then disconnected the call and looked questionably at Special Agent Fleishman.

Special Agent Fleishman nodded.   “Good.  Now, let’s go down and see if they need any help in Ms. Gunderson’s office. “

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in chit chat, fiction, political, weather and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Vehicle & 35th In the Ama Saga: Detective Batan Calls Mrs. White

  1. beetleypete says:

    I had to look up a Honda Ridgeline. They don’t appear to sell them here. Looks like a useful addition to your motoring stable. Glad to hear that Nancy had no ill-effects from all that driving.

    I manged to overcome my desire to have hot chocolate with marshmallows, and then you mentioned it again today. I had a pizza instead…
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Eddy Winko says:

      Don’t do it Pete! I have all the ingredients stockpiled and ready to go and yet I have managed to hold back, my will is strong….and Gosa brought me a few beers back from her day out so….

      Liked by 2 people

      • Thank you, Pete.
        The Honda Ridgeline series is a new line here. They were introduced in July, 2016. I am struck by the fact that the Automobile Industry does not coordinate their driver controls for accessories like the radio, map heater and the rest. Why it concerns me is these controls should not take a learning curve. They should all be in the same place in any vehicle. I think that the driver if he or she wants to change a setting should not have to look every time and take their eyes off traffic. However, if a few short years one will not be able to by a vehicle that doesn’t drive itself, so by the time they catch on the problem will be obviated.
        I almost commented on your recent post about being positive that if things looked bad my grandmother used to say, a cup of hot chocolate with marshmallows will make it all better. But, I didn’t.
        Warmest regards, Theo

        Like

      • Thank you for the chuckle
        Warmest regards, Ed

        Liked by 1 person

    • I messed up the placement again. see below under Eddy’s repsonse

      Like

  2. Eddy Winko says:

    Even 400 words did the trick, yet more suspense.
    Nice new motor, could be handy with all that snow.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I have a fondness for American trucks, would love one myself. Nancy is doing very well, good to hear. I have eschewed hot chocolate and marshmallows for honey lemon and brandy in a cup, no scissors required. It’s supposed to help with my flu symptoms, it doesn’t really but makes me squiffy so I don’t mind them as much. Fingers crossed for induced unconsciousness to make up for 36 hrs with no sleep. I like this addendum to the saga, look forward to Agent F meeting the Amandas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

