More than you wanted to know about my day around surgery 9th episode of the Agent Amanda Story:

Good Morning Ted and Jody:

It is a bit difficult to tell with the bit of discomfort in my back, but I rather suspect the pinched nerves to my legs may be a thing of the past (knock on wood).  I was up and walking the hall of the admitting/discharging area within 90 minutes of surgery.  Since the pre-op instructions call for not taking meds that morning, they had some concerns about my blood pressure and blood sugar.  Finally, they relented and let me take my “regular” meds and the blood pressure issue quickly resolved itself.  However, they kept insisting on administering one unit of insulin at a time.  That was not particularly effective, but is dropped below 200 and they decided to let me out.  The blood sugar, while still high, it is behaving closer to normal, for me, now.  One of the prescriptions I have been taking for blood sugar was one they wanted me to stop for five days before.  I’m surprised that it didn’t shoot up to a “gegillion” (a larger exponent than a “Brazillion”)  without full treatment.

I do have soreness where they went in.  I am using a muscle relaxant and Ibuprofen.  For my system, I don’t see the hard drugs doing much better, but they would impair me.  I am too old to be any more impaired that I was before I went in.  Strangely, walking or standing upright is more comfortable then sitting in a straight back chair, which is more comfortable than laying down.  The basic rules are no bending, no twisting no reaching to high.  Then there are some exercises involving laying on my back and pumping my feet, raising my knees and remembering to call this exercise.  I will graduate to more vertical exercises with time.

Largely, except for ending up with a fresh knife would, the experience there was very good.  The surgeon tells me he got the junk out and he seemed pleased.  The anesthesiologist  was positive before and after.  He has an easy way with people (a gift I wish I had).  The nursing staff was both pleasnet and interesting.  One has been an intern in the Senate under Patty Murphy.  The one assigned to me after surgery was pleasant and enjoyable to be around and handy.    Indeed, some one parked so close to the Hyundai, that Nancy could not get in the driver’s seat.  The nurse went out crawled over the center divider and got it out for her.

Needless to say, I did a lot of sleeping last night—more than my normal quota.

I trust this finds you happy, healthy and warm.  Spring is on the way, it just seems to have gotten sidetracked somewhere in the milled latitudes.  I am appending the next installment of the Amanda story and hope I get the next one this time.

Warmest regards, Ed

009 Implant

Fiction in 1244 words by T. Edward Westen, 2017

 

Alice Beaverton awoke to silence. She stretched her arms while still in bed and thought, ‘I am free of that place.’ She smiled then asked, “Computer did I successfully complete the sleep module for the sixth course required to receive an Agency for Time Integrity, ATI implant?”

The screen in her cubical came to life and the computer replied, “Yes, you successfully completed the sleep module for the sixth course required for receiving an ATI implant.”

“Computer when and where is the next available time to schedule an implant?” she asked climbing out of bed and pulling her clothes out of the freshener.

“In two hours and ten minutes in Room 2709 of the Agency for Time Integrity, ATI, at 1895 Wells Street,” replied the computer.

“Computer, schedule me to have an implant at that time,” said Alice.

                                  Arriving at Room 2709 fifteen minutes early 

she found entrance impossible.  About five minutes later a slightly overweight man sporting a brown foam mustache speckled with white chunks opened the door from the inside.  The man seemed startled to see her; he wiped the back of his hand across his mouth erasing the mustache and said, “Sorry, can I help you?”

“Yes, I am Alice Beaverton and I am here to have an implant for time travel.”

“Oh, ah, yes, well, it will be in a few minutes, I just got here myself.  I am Outreach Agent Johnathan Simmons,” he said and stuck out the hand he used to wipe away his brown foam mustache that had been speckled with white chunks.

Alice looked at the hand then to his face, her face clearly showed a lack of understanding.

Outreach Agent Simmons pulled back his hand.  “I am sorry, that was rude of me.  It is a custom from an earlier time I visited and it is funny how, er, well, I guess one picks up those old ways so quickly.  Anyway, around here is a common, albeit archaic part of a welcoming greeting.  So, let me simply say, Welcome Alice er, ah.”

“Beaverton,” Alice added.

“Yes, I am sorry, Welcome Alice Beaverton.”  Outreach Agent Simmons then looked at the panel next to the portal and said, “I see you are on the schedule.  A light morning, as you are the only implant scheduled.”  Then he flushed and stammered again, “I am forgetting my manners, do come in.”

Outreach Agent Simmons led Alice into an almost bare room.  He walked over to the far wall touched it and the wall opened into a shelf much as one would find in a working laboratory with racks of syringes some fill with a red substance, some with green and some with blue. The shelf held various other ‘scientific looking’ paraphilia that Alice did not recognize.    To the right side of the room was a shelf that was identical to the beds in the six, public. sleeping cubicles Alice had slept in the six nights since her release from prison.  She pointed to the bed, “Is that where you sleep.”

My, my, no, that is a transporter base for individuals with provisional implants.  That will be your temporary transporter base,” replied Special Agent Simmons. “I have quarters and a laboratory elsewhere in the building.”

“I do apologize, I just finished the sixth sleep module last night. I almost knew the answer before I asked. Which of those,” she said pointing to the racks of syringes, “contain the implants? The red ones?” asked Alice.

“Red are long term and green are short term and the blue remove either?” replied Outreach Agent Simmons.  “Everyone gets a temporary, a green, implant the first time.  They are good for 25 to 30 pivots.  They bring the person back in 30 days and then we remove it with the blue syringe; and, if you still want one we discuss employment and a permanent implant. We also use the temporary one to be sure there is no adverse reaction to the implant.  After all it would be silly to have you bounding around in time forever if you didn’t react well to it.  25 to 30 pivots, with the last pivot to this transporter base,” he said pointing to what Alice had called a bed on the side of the room, “doesn’t leave you all tied up in time knots.”  He smiled, “One fellow, on a temporary was so, shall we say, allergic to the implant that he took all 26 of his pivots in the span of a minute and three seconds.  That was freaky for him, to say the least.”  Outreach Agent Simmons looked at the frown on Alice’s face and said, “Oh, you did know that everyone can successfully have a time implant, didn’t you?”

“Yes, that is not it, I didn’t know there were temporary implants and permanent ones.  This is new information for me.  How long does it take before I take my first, er, trial, pivot?” Alice asked.

“Not long, perhaps 15 minutes.” Replied Outreach Agent Simmons.  “I give you the injection and the nanobots go to work very quickly. We can sit and chat while they work.  I have chatted with some of the most interesting people while we waited for the nanobots to finish their work.”  He walked over to the rack of syringes and selected a green one and walked back to Alice.  “Are you ready?”

“Yes, let’s do this,” said Alice.

“Raise your right arm.  We use the armpit for their point of entry.  You should not feel anything except a tingling sensation,” said a smiling Outreach Agent Simons.  “After all the nanobots, have very tiny feet.” He chortled at his witticism.

Alice asked, “Do you do this every day?”

“No, everyone with an Agent designation who has been in the field, so to speak, does this on a rotating basis. I get to do this about three times a year.  This morning is my second time this year,” replied Outreach Agent Simmons.

“What is your regular, ah, assignment?” asked Alice Beaverton.

“I and others with the designation ‘Outreach’ collect information, pave the way for and solve problems that field teams present to us for operations downline.  When not working on a field team or council request, we specialize in gathering information about periods of time where information is scarce.  In working on a recent request, I helped open a portal to a parallel universe.  I will be specializing in that universe in my, shall we say, spare time.”  He paused, “I do need to mention that you should plan on your first pivot from here and back to here in the span of a few minutes.  That way we can check for any minor adjustments that need to be made.  You do need to know your mass limit with the temporary implant is 150 kilos, so if you pick up, he, he, he,” he snorted, “any strangers make sure they are about your mass.” He winked when he said that. “I recommend you pick a place you have been for this first jaunt.  Preferably at a time you were not there, face to face with yourself can be a bit awkward if the earlier you is not expecting to see her older self in the flesh. See you in a few minutes.”

Outreach Agent Simmons watched Alice Beaverton make her maiden pivot, to wit, she disappeared.  “Sigh, they are so young now.  I wonder why she wants in to ensure that everyone has a future. Who did she lose?”

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in fiction, medical stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More than you wanted to know about my day around surgery 9th episode of the Agent Amanda Story:

  1. beetleypete says:

    The hot chocolate and marshmallows has reappeared, albeit on the lips of Agent Simmons. It feels comfortable to have him back in the story, for some reason.

    The surgery was dealt with very rapidly. I was surprised that you were discharged so soon after. When my Dad had back surgery, in 1970, he was in hospital for five weeks. Mind you, that was to have a disc removed.

    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Pete:
      At least I didn’t have to spell out what he had been drinking. Funny, but with as short of an exposure he had in the last book, he seems to have a personality.
      With private insurance being the dominant player in the health care industry here, even the old age medical insurance paid by our premiums through the government acts as a cost cutter for medical treatment. Insurance companies do not like to pay for hospital stays (or anything for that matter), the surgeons have become more proficient. Then too MRIs show surgeons more clearly what they have to do before they go in and how to go in. That makes for less of the “invasive” things they end up doing. Then too, there are a lot of improvements in surgical techniques since the 1970s (they seem to happen every day now, the improvements). Nancy had only one night on her last knee replacement. Apparently getting people up and moving is a big part of how they have changed their philosophy. In my case being up is better than being tied to a bed (home or the hospital); for, I have less discomfort being up. Getting out of bed is generates the most discomfort. But it very sort lived.
      Again, thanks, Theo

      Like

  2. Agree with that, it was quick! Modern surgery is amazing. How nice to have Agent Simmons back and a hot choc with marshmallow addict 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you.
      Yes, it is nice that is was quick. I am just a bit slower today than I was the day before yesterday. But today I have an excuse, yesterday. 🙂
      It sorts of makes me wonder what happened between now and a future where hot chocolate and marshmallows has to be “reintroduced?” What great calamity befell human kind that such a treat be lost for apparently hundreds of years?
      Warmest regards, Ed

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Eddy Winko says:

    I think they must have used some form of local time travel on you as that really is a quick turnaround, very glad to here that it went well.
    HC&M, I must carve the recipe on the next rock formation that I come across to ensure it’s pace in the future. I think I will have to break my schedule again today as I’m keen to read the next episode as soon as I can.

    Like

  4. Thank you.
    You may be right. If it would save the insurance companies money, they would use time travel.
    Yes, carve it in stone. That way it will not be lost after everything has gone digital and then destroyed by the solar flare of 2374. 🙂
    Well then I better put the next episode up.
    Warmest regards, Ed

    Like

Leave a Reply

