It was great to hear your voices yesterday & 035 Frank takes Jessica Ann Home (Agent Amanda Story)

Good Morning Ted and Jody:

It was great to hear your voices yesterday.  It is even more ex citing that you are planning another sojourn this way.  I’ve told Nancy to keep June open for you. When I told her about a trip to Crater Lake she was even more enthusiastic—I think she loves Carter Lake as much as I do.  This is going to be a lot of fun for a quartet of seniors—we should raise a lot of the dickens when you come.

When you called, she was having an attack of vertigo?  We will see another doctor today and get some relief for her.

I think we will resurrect my old Samsung Galaxy Note 4 for a campaign phone. That will save on buying a new one and we should be able to tack it on our existing plan fairly cheaply.  We’ll stop and talk to our carrier in the next day or so.  I am about ½ way through the edit of my Democratize Money (Monetize Citizens) manuscript.  I estimate another 9 days till that is ready for either a real edit or a sloppy publication.  That monograph should go a long way to establishing the basis for one of the planks in my platform—give each citizen who does his or her civic duties $1,667/month.  However, I am thinking of raising it to $2,500/month in anticipation of having to bargain or negotiate a bit (flexibility, Ed, flexibility).

I do need some volunteers to do some of the work.  Although I have both a secretary and treasurer of record (when we file the papers).  There is a lot people can do to help without leaving home on their computers, phones and even using paper and pencil.  I’ll think of something.  Perhaps a press conference with info on how volunteers can help from home when I file.  I can use a web master, twitter master, and pod casters.  There is a lot to be done.  I may be off track, but I think the monograph detailing my thinking on the stipends to citizens of new money will be a cornerstone.

We got some “un-forecasted” relief from rain today, so I took a couple of shots in between campaign work and writing an episode of Agent Amanda.  These are about four hours apart.201703_0904 c five shot Panorama ns email.jpg20170312_1359 5 shot Panorama ns email.jpg

Bundle up, stay happy, healthy and eat some fiber.

Warmest regards, Ed

035 Frank takes Jessica Ann Home

Fiction in 869 words by T. Edward Westen, 2017

 

When Frank Thompson and four-year-old Jessica Ann Beaverton arrive back at Walter and Jessica Ann Beaverton’s residence no one was home.  “Technically we are 4 minutes late, Jessica Ann. Where do you suppose your father is?

 

Jessica Ann, pointing to a Chihuahua in the next yard, said, “Can I play with Fellow Traveler?”

 

“Is that the dog’s name?” Frank asked

 

“Yes, he liked to chase sticks,” said Jessica Ann.

 

“Maybe we had better ask,” said Frank.

 

Frank walled to the next residence and an old man inside opened the door, “Yes,” he said.

 

Frank asked, “Can Jessica Ann play with your dog?”

 

“May,” the man said.

 

“May what?” asked Frank.

 

Don’tcha know the King’s English, man?  Can means is she able; may means, well, may she or is it allowable for her.”

 

Frank laughed and said, “I do apologize. May Jessica Ann play with Fellow Traveler?”

 

The old man pointed to the Jessica Ann throwing a stick and Fellow Traveler running and bring it back.  “A little late to ask since she is already playing with him.  Who are you and how do you know my dog’s name?”

 

“My Name is Frank Thompson,” He replied.  “I am an officer of the Family Court.  I just finished a supervised visit with Jessica Ann and her mother.  Jessica Ann told me the dog’s name.”

 

The old man said, “She is a smart kid.  If you knew what you were doing, you would supervise visits with her deadbeat father.”

 

Frank’s eyes opened wide and a hint of skepticism ran across hid fore head—eyebrows to hair line.  He thought ‘Oops, we need to look into this.’  Out loud he asked the man, “With whom do I have the pleasure of speaking?”

 

“David Bastion.”  After stating his name the old man called, “Fellow Traveler, time for din-din.”  Fellow Traveler dropped the stick he was carrying back to Jessica Ann and ran inside.  David Bastion shut the door leaving Frank on the door step and Jessica Ann in the yard.

 

Frank went down the steps and took Jessica Ann’s hand and walked back to her home. The two of them sat on the steps.  The court scheduled visitation was from noon until 6:00 P.M.  Walter Beaverton left his daughter with Frank Thompson and his female assistant at 10 A.M.  Frank checked the time, ‘Going on 7.  Where in the hell is the man?  He was supposed to be here no later than 6:30,’ Frank thought and fidgeted.  ‘I’ll give him another 30 minutes and then I’ll report him to child protective services.  Being late to resume custody of a four-year-old daughter is criminal regardless of the reason.  He opened communications to Walter Beaverton and then shrugged. ‘Not available.’ Turning to Jessica Ann he said, “It would seem your father is late.”

Jessica Ann smiled and shrugged her shoulders which, had she been an adult Frank would have thought she was communicating ‘what’s new.’  And she said, “Daddy late again.  Daddy late.” And she nodded her head to indicate ‘this is how my world works.’

Frank was used to waiting.  Working for the court required a lot a waiting.  Waiting on juries, waiting on witnesses, waiting on judges, waiting on attorneys, waiting was the name of his job.  But, waiting for a parent to pick up a child when that child needs dinner, a bathe, a bed time story and to be tucked in was not a component in Frank’s waiting tolerance.    Frank opened communications, “Contact me with the police.”  It took a moment, “Yes, this is Frank Thompson.  I am an officer of the Family Court.  I would like to report a case of child neglect.”  He listened. “Yes, connect me with the detectives.”  This was the kind of waiting at which he was well rehearsed, indeed, well-practiced, “Yes, his is Frank Thompson.  I am an officer of the Family Court.  I would like to report child neglect.  Walter Beaverton.”  He listened. “Well, detective, he is over two hours late to pick up his daughter.  He has a privacy shield up so is unreachable.  He daughter is with me and it is past time for her dinner and bath.”  He listened to the detective.  “That’s right Detective, I am at his home now and I did check his place of employment.”  Frank frowned and said, “No, I think it best if I wait here.  I verbally confirm your restatement of my report of child neglect, Walter Beaverton, and will sign the request for a missing person’s search when I get to a computer screen.”  He listened again, “No, there is not a public screen in sight.”  He cocked his head.  “Thanks, sending a patrolman with a device would be appreciated.”

Frank turned to Jessica Ann and said, “I am afraid you and I are going to have a long night.  My office is closed and it takes a police call to get someone to take care of you.”  He shrugged his shoulders when he realized that Jessica Ann had fallen asleep against him sitting on the steps.  Frank sighed, “I’ll take you for ice cream, kid,  when this is all sorted out.  You are one resilient little girl.”

Jessica Ann slept on.

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in chit chat, devices, fiction, medical stuff, photographs, political, weather and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It was great to hear your voices yesterday & 035 Frank takes Jessica Ann Home (Agent Amanda Story)

  1. Franks a good sort, like him a lot. You are sounding very busy, don’t work too hard!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. beetleypete says:

    I like the way that we are back waiting for the drunk Dad, but now Jessica is with Frank, instead of him being there to report her abduction. The same sequence in different time periods is very rewarding to read.
    Nice clouds in that second shot, Theo.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Eddy Winko says:

    So Walter really is a deadbeat, not some traumatised individual whose mind was mushed by the time travel antics of a wayward ex-wife.
    I was hoping Nancy was balanced again, I hope the new guy has better scales.
    The ripples on the water add some nice movement to the sky in the second picture, I felt cold looking at it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you.
      Apparently, but we don’t know how he got that way or if Alice played a part in his descent into the bottle.
      If more testing is any indication, this guy may be on the right track for Nancy.
      I only had a sweater on when I took that shot. I was cold.
      Warmest regards, Ed

      Like

Leave a Reply

