Letter From a Member of Congress & 037 Trying to Figure Things Out (Agent Amanda Story)

Dear Ted and Jody:

The blood work Nancy had done yesterday came back normal.  I will be a day or so until the results of the MRI are in.  So, now we know why people who go to doctors are called patients: they wait to get in and wait to find out.

I got a response to one of my missives to my representative yesterday by email.  I can’t tell if it is in response to my letter of February 17 or my email of March 3.  In both I expressed a desire as an American to see the pestilence’s taxes.  I guess I will have to tell her again.  I do glean from the letter that letters from Congressional Offices have not changed since I was one of the authors back in the late 60s.  I don’t know if that is encouraging or not.  Any way here is her response:

Thank you for contacting me regarding President Trump’s tax returns.

 

“  It is an honor to represent the people of Southwest Washington, and I appreciate you sharing your thoughts with me.

     

“There was no vote in the U.S. House of Representatives to require the release of the president’s tax returns.  On February 27, 2017 Rep. Bill Pascrell tried to utilize a rarely-used legislative tool called a “Privileged Resolution” which was offered against the rules of the House.   The U.S. House did take a vote on whether to uphold its rules, which I supported.

“I believe the president should be forthright and transparent, including his financial interests.  Throughout my time in Congress, I’ve worked to increase transparency and accountability between those in positions of power, and the citizens they represent.  In 2011, I took up the legislation championed by my Democrat predecessor, Brian Baird, entitled the “Stop Trading on Congressional Knowledge” (STOCK) Act in response to reports that certain congressional staff and members had benefitted from their positioned through ethically-questionable actions.  Under the bill I cosponsored and voted in favor of, Members of Congress, their staff, and Executive Branch staff: 

·”         Are prohibited from buying or selling securities, swaps, or commodity futures based on nonpublic information they obtain through their jobs;

·”         Cannot share non-public information about legislative action for purposes of investing or profiting from investment;

·”         Are required to report investment transactions valuing in excess of $1,000 within 45 days.

“This version also prevents Members of Congress, Executive Branch officials and their staffs from receiving special access to Initial Public Offerings due to their positions.  In addition, Members of Congress convicted of a crime would not receive taxpayer funded pensions.  The STOCK Act was signed into law on April 4, 2012.

“Please know that as your federal representative I will be working to ensure all elected and unelected officials are held to the highest ethical standards and I will continue to look for ways to increase transparency. 

 

“Thank you again for contacting me on this important issue. I invite you to visit my website for additional information or to sign up to be kept up to date on these issues. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can ever be of assistance.”

So, everyone is supposed to pay by the rules, but the pestilence still refuses. I tried to respond to her email but got the following message: “Thanks for contacting my office.  Please note that this email address is not monitored.  In order to communicate with me, please send me an email by clicking here or call my office at Thank you again for contacting me.  I look forward to serving you”.  This is an interesting approach to service and constituent communications.

 

 

I had Photoshop stitch 15 shots I took yesterday morning into one panorama. 20170314_0856 15 shot Panorama ns 2 email.jpg It turned out pretty good for that many shots.

Stay bundled up, happy, healthy and be brave of heart praying that the pestilence does not use the nuclear football.

Warmest Regards, Ed

 

037 Trying to Figure Things Out

Fiction in 793 words by T. Edward Westen

 

Agent Brice looked at Special Agent Fleishman and said, “You were looking for her to stop plagiarism and royalty theft.  Right?

 

Special Agent Fleishman nodded his head.

 

Agent Brice continued. “We were looking for her for child abduction.  It was only when Amanda and you found Sylvia Chu’s address of convenience that the two cases were tied together into one perp.”

 

Agent Amanda interrupted her husband, “I get it, with the possibility of time travel she could be leading two lives and show up here to throw us off.”

 

Special Agent Fleishman started to interject, “I . . .”

 

But Agent Amanda held up a finer to signal she wasn’t finished, “We suspect implants and implant removal syringes are missing.  Yes, Alice Beaverton’s reading was clean, but that could have been staged.  And to stage it she only had to use a temporary implant.”

 

Special Agent Fleishman said, “What I was going to say is I should go up-line to see if Sheena Carwood, head programmer and Director at AWDB, has identified any more retroactive plagiarism.  While I am gone, Johnathon, can do an inventory of what implant material is missing so we know what we are up against.”  Special Agent Fleishman vanished.

 

Outreach Agent Simmons said, “Computer, display an inventory of implant and implant removal units.”

 

When the computer displayed the inventory, Outreach Agent Simmons counted the syringes physically in inventory.    Looking perplexed he said, “They are all here.”

 

Agent Amanda asked, “Could she have taken the contents and substituted something the same color in their place?

 

Outreach Agent Simmons pulled one of the syringes off the shelf and handed to Agent Amanda.  Pointing to the back of the syringe he said, “You will observe the seal?  The seal is broken if the contents are remove in any fashion.”  Takin the syringe from Amanda he handed it to Agent Brice and pointed.  “So, now that you know what it looks like, I’ll check the red, you the blue,” pointing to Amanda “and Brice . . .”

 

Yes, I get the green,” said, Agent Brice interrupting.

 

Special Agent Fleishman pivoted to his own transporter base

up-line to a month after his first  discussion with Director Carwood of the Accumulated Writings Data Base, AWDB. “Computer, connect me with Director Carwood at AWDB.”

 

Director Carwood appeared on the screen and said, “I thought you were going to solve this problem.  We have 52 instances of what can only be called literary grand theft.  Last month we only had 15.”

 

Special Agent Fleishman winced and said, “That is what I called to find out.  Can I get a data transfer of those titles?

 

The tiles appeared on the screen and Special Agent Fleishman noted, “I see they are all now by Melissa Hickson, all children’s books.  He then asked, “Computer compare these titles to the ones purchased by Alice Beaverton for her deluxe reader.”

 

“All the books on the data transfer were purchased for Alice Beaverton’s deluxe reader,” confirmed the computer.

 

“I think we need to discuss where her reader is,” said, Special Agent Fleishman.  “Director Carwood, thank you, this information should help us track down the problem and, hopefully, get it fixed.  I’ll be back in touch fairly soon.”

 

“I hope so,” Said Director Carwood.

 

Special Agent Fleishman pivoted back to room 2709 at the ATI Buliding

to find Agents Clarkton and Outreach Agent Simmons figuratively up to their elbows in implant insertion and removal syringes.  Blue ones were on the transport base, red ones were on a  table brought into the room and red ones on the laboratory shelf.  “Did you have to get them all out the do the inventory Johnathon?”

 

“A simple count showed none missing.  Amanda suggested Alice might have substituted contents.  So far it looks like none are missing,” said Special Agent Simmons.

 

Agent Amanda shrugged her shoulders, “I’m beginning to suspect Alice went up-line and took them from there.  If so a count should tell us.  I’ll Take a look at six months intervals until I ether find some missing or get too far up-line.  I’ll be back.” 

 

Brice held up his finger and said, “It would go faster if two of us did the up-line check.  I’ll take year intervals from now, you start six months out and then take year intervals from there.”

 

His wife nodded and disappeared.

 

Brice shrugged his shoulders as if to say, ‘what are you goanna do?’ and disappeared.

 

Special Agent Fleishman turned to Outreach Agent Simmons and said, “It seems Melissa Hickson has now plagiarized some fifty titles and they are were purchased by Alice Beaverton.  I suggest we find Alice and have a talk with her.”

 

“And to think we just let her walk out of here,” said Outreach Agent Simmons.

 

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in clouds, fiction, medical stuff, political and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Letter From a Member of Congress & 037 Trying to Figure Things Out (Agent Amanda Story)

  1. beetleypete says:

    Phew! Lots to take in. I am still thinking about those syringes…

    That Congress stuff sounds like a Royal Pain. Good luck with that.

    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you.
      What I don’t understand about the syringes is why they don’t hurt like the dickens.
      Yes, they must have a “welcome to Congress and learn how to spin a tale in a letter that you won’t get bitten by later.
      Warmest regards, Theo

      Like

  2. Eddy Winko says:

    Maybe the fabrication plant made a few duplicates, never mind going up line to see what’s missing!
    I think I preferred the chess problem 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes we know she took the syringes when Agent Simmons left the room and she pivoted back, so they should be showing as missing, hmmm, somethings afoot!

    Like

  4. Thank you.
    We were witnesses to her theft. So one has to wonder . . .
    Indeed, something is afoot.
    Warmest regards, Ed

    Like

Leave a Reply

