Sunrise & 043 Edith Meets a Judge (Agent Amanda Story)

Good Morning Ted and Jody:

Another day that Nancy has not had a bout of vertigo.  The next two days she will be teaching a purse making class.  Let us hope her vertigo stays in abeyance.

About 30 minutes before sunrise this morning I happened to notice that I could see the moon and some cloudless sky overhead.  So, I quickly got dressed and went out to shoot the dawn, sunrise, or whatever was in the offing.  I felt like I got lucky.20170320_075308 ns email.jpg20170323d0655 6 shot _Panorama ns email.jpg20170320_0701 12 shot Panorama ns email.jpg20170320_0711 22 sot Panorama ns email.jpg20170320P0657 13 shot Panorama ns c email.jpg

The balance of the day I worked on getting Democratize Money: Monetize Citizens: A Proposal, ready to publish.  I have to do a table of contents and then make sure each section is formatted the same before making a monograph file of about 23,500 words (1/4th of a book or about 50 pages). Then I will sit on it for a few days and re-read it.  So, I am getting close.  With each revision, I think it becomes just a bit easier to read.  Dealing with creating money, it will, alas, never be easy to read.  I can have a couple of dozen copies printed and spiral bound for a fairly reasonable price.  I will need at least 5 copies, but have to buy in lots of 24.  No problem, it is, however, amusing.  I will check locally tomorrow to see what the places in town can do.  Since that will be the first edition, I will autograph them and save them for it the book sells they become collector’s items.

Stay warm, healthy, wise, happy and don’t let that first day of Spring propaganda fool you—it isn’t.

Warmest regards, Ed

 

043 Edith Meets a Judge

Fiction in 788 words by T. Edward Westen, 2017

 

Special Agent Fleischman and Edith Gunderson arrived in Family Court to find Frank Thompson and Benny, the bailiff.   SPECIAL agent Fleishman introduced Edith to Frank.  “Frank Thompson,  Edith Gunderson.   You two are in the same line of work.”

 

Edith Gunderson stuck out her hand and Frank looked a bit confused.   “You shake her hand, Frank, like this,” Said Special Agent Fleishman shaking Edith’s hand to demonstrate.   “It was customary 600 years ago and you say the customary ‘glad meet you ‘.”

 

“Is this sanitary?” asked Frank.

 

Edith Gunderson started to laugh.  “Nonsense, it probably isn’t.   But it does prove you don’t have a weapon in your hand.”

 

“I suspected it wasn’t sanitary.  Is a weapon check why it is done?” asked Frank.

 

“To be honest, it is just a custom, I have no idea why. The weapons thing just flew into my mind.  If not picking up germs or viruses is a reason not to shake hands, then so be it,” replied Edith Gunderson. “It no skin off my nose.  Indeed, it is only very recently that women were included in the custom.  It seems that earlier we were too fragile.”  Edith laughed and tuned to Special Agent Fleishman.  “Well brave special agent who is the other gentleman present.”

Benny beamed and stuck his hand out and said, “I’m the bailiff Mam.  My name is Benny.”

Edith shook Benny’s hand and said, “I’m relieved there are still humans in some jobs that I recognize.  I am delighted to meet you Benny.”

Frank stuck out his hand, and said, “I do apologize for my apparent rudeness.  We don’t do a lot of touching in this Century.  I suppose the plagues after the antibiotic era stuck it changed a lot of customs.”

Edith said, “No problem,” and shook his hand vigorously. “What is this about plagues.”

Special Agent Fleishman interjected, “About 300 years the super bugs that developed from overuse of antibiotics . . .”

Benny interrupted, “All rise for the Honorable Justice Henderson.”

Since they were all standing, they looked around foolishly.  Judge Henderson said, “Would you all approach the bench, please.”  That took them off the hook for having to find a seat.

When the four of them were standing in front of the bench, Judge Henderson said, “I am Douglas Henderson, Madam.  From the company, you are keeping I would guess you are a Child Protective Services Officer from the early 21st Century.”

Yes, your honor.  I am Edith Gunderson.  I am a Child Protective Services Case Worker.  Would you like to see my credentials?

“I would have no way to verify them.  However, I trust the Special Agent and would love to see them for the historical import they represent,” replied the Judge.

Edith fished around in her purse and pulled out a credentials case. She handed it to the Judge.  Judge Henderson opened it and looked at it and then at Edith Gunderson and said, “The image does not do you justice.”

“Thank you.  In my era, official credentials never seem to do one justice,” replied Edith taking her credentials back.

“I don’t suppose you have had time to review the file I see Special Agent Fleishman is holding,” said the Judge.

“I have read it from cover to cover, your Honor,” replied Edith.  “In our system, we often find it useful to watch the minor child interact with each parent to get some idea of the relationship.  We put the parents in rooms with one-way mirrors and send the child in and watch.  We do this with each parent in turn.”

“What is a one-way mirror?” asked the Judge.

“It is a piece of glass made to be reflective on one side and transparent from the other side.  We fit them in rooms where we want to conduct observations without being present or obvious about watching,” replied Edith.

“Oh, we can monitor a room,” said the judge.  “Benny retrieve Mr. Beaverton from holding and put him in 3B.  Special Agent Fleishman can you possibly find Ms. Beaverton and bring her to room 7A?  Frank, you go in and make sure Jessica Ann is happy and ready to meet her parents one at a time.”

All three men nodded.  Benny and Frank left the room by the door. Special Agent Fleishman pivoted.

Judge Henderson turned to Edith and said, “What that disappearing into thin air is known, we don’t actually see it often.  I’ll be darned if I can get used to it.”

Edith said, “It is also disconcerting to move about like that.”

 

The Judge said, “It will take them at least a few minutes to set up.  Please join me in chambers and tell me about courts in the early 21st Century.

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in dawn, fiction, medical stuff, photographs, political, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunrise & 043 Edith Meets a Judge (Agent Amanda Story)

  1. Lovely sunrises Ed, fingers xt for Nancy’s teaching session to go well.
    Love the meeting of the judge and Edith, they seem to have hit it off. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you.
      Yesterday morning was a delightful photo opportunity. When I left home, I thought it was a 50-50 chance I would get a shot. I guess I get the right 50%.
      Edith and the Judge indeed seem to have common interests.
      Warmest regards, Ed

      Liked by 1 person

  2. beetleypete says:

    Lovely ‘mackerel sky’ reflected in the water, Theo.

    I agree with FR, seems like the Judge and Edith are going to get on well.

    Best wishes, Pete.

    Like

  3. Thank you.
    I did enjoy the morning and was almost late because of it.
    Warmest regards, Theo

    Like

  4. Eddy Winko says:

    Reading Petes post about pictures I was thinking I would like to enlarge some of yours as you take some reals stunners!
    A nice pace picking up in the story now, but I still don’t know the direction for sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

