Cardiologist, Writing, Cascades & 049 Alice and Alice in Court (Agent Amanda Story)

Good Morning Ted and Jody:

I was quite pleasantly surprised by the cardiologist.  She is a rather young doctor.  She explains things very well.  I now understand why I have been seeing cardiologists for all these years.  Quite frankly had one of the earlier doctors explained things the way she did I would have changed some of what I do. As it is, given Nancy’s of salt-free diet least she has attacks of vertigo and the fact I have largely gone along with her dietary change probably kept me alive.  Not that this doctor was an alarmist, rather she explained what they have been trying to do and why.  Funny how three cardiologists prior to her couldn’t manage to tell me what was going on with my heart.  I have what is commonly called congestive heart failure as my heart fails to pump out a large enough percentage of blood that enters its chambers.  Hence salts and fluids are to be avoided (minimized). There are some other things I need to do, but that is enough medical stuff for today.

You will recall I went back to school after I retired.  In going back to school without an office, I found studying at home a problem.  So, I went into campus and found lounges, libraries, cafeterias and empty classrooms to use as study halls.  This morning I took a printed version of Democratize Money with me and found places in the Hospital, restaurants to edit it.  I got about 2/3rds done before I got buggy.  I am going to do the same thing tomorrow morning to finish it and then come home and make the changes on the computer.

After going buggy, I drove up into the Cascades.  It was raining here and there.  When I got to Elk Rock View about 3500 feet, the visibility was not terribly good.  However, I took two images while it was snowing.  The first one should show Mt. St. Helens slightly off center to the left.  01 (1).jpgThe second one shows snowflakes and is facing away from Mt. St. Helens.  01 (2).jpgOn the way down the weather cleared a bit and I got two panoramas. 20170327_1550 9 shot Panorama ns v2 email.jpg20170327_1553 3 shot Panorama ns email.jpg I did not expect any images so I was very pleased that I got any.

I hope this finds you healthy, happy and no longer having to run the snow blower.

Warmest Regards, Ed

049 Alice and Alice in Court

Fiction in 726 words by T. Edward Westen, 2017

 

Family Court Judge Douglas Henderson actually scratched his head.  “Let me get this clear.  These two women are Alice Beaverton, one in the same.”

 

“Yes, your honor,” replied Special Agent Fleishman. “You awarded her temporary custody of her daughter Jessica Ann just yesterday.

 

“Where is Jessica Ann?” the Judge asked.

 

“She is with Frank Thompson and his assistant, Nancy,” replied Special Agent Fleishman.  “We thought it best not to confuse her with two mothers.  We need to sort this out.  Besides, there may be a second Jessica Ann as well.”

 

“Why do you suspect that?” asked the Judge.

 

“Lapping, your honor.  We suspect lapping accounts for two Alice Beavertons existing,” replied Special Agent Fleishman.

 

“Humph,” the Judge grunted and shook his head. “I was explaining the leangle problem of individuals who are duplicated by lapping to a friend yesterday.  Now here I have just the kind of problem I was outlining over a glass of wine in a sidewalk café.”  The Judge shook his head again.  “So you suspect lapping in the case of Jessica Ann?”

 

Yes, your Honor,’ replied Special Agent Fleishman.  “If you would permit, I would like my associate, Agent Amanda Clarkton to explain why we think so.”

 

“Agent Clarkton, please proceed,” said Judge Henderson.

 

“Thank you, your Honor,” replied Agent Amanda. “My husband, Agent Brice Clarkton, and I interviewed prisoners who were incarcerated the same time as Alice Beaverton.  To a person, they all said that Ms. Beaverton was obsessed with her daughter, whom she referred to as Baby Jessica Ann.  They and prison authorities reported the depression that Alice went into when her newborn daughter was taken from her after the prenatal nursing.  Indeed, they put her on prison watch.  A week after the child was removed from the prison, Alice Beaverton went missing from the prison.  We suspect, but can not yet prove, she, how does one say it, sprung her younger self to avoid the depression. The only way she could avoid the depress was to have contact with her daughter.  So, we guess she lapped Jessica Ann to provide herself with the cure for her depression—constnt contact with her daughtger. The psychologist who interviewed Alice Beaverton upon her release spoke of Alice’s obsession and single purpose was to be with her daughter.  He thought that would keep her on the straight and narrow.  Upon release, Ms. Beaverton sought out children’s books for her daughter.  Then the first visit with her daughter she and the child went missing for forty minutes.  My Husband and I tracked Alice Beaverton to the early 21st Century where she went to elaborate lengths to hide her presence.  She obtains birth certificates for at least two deceased females in her ethnic group.  She purchased, with material from this century, a motorized home and switched identification tags on at least 55 vehicles to camouflage her whereabouts.  She was clearly present in the 21st Century with her daughter for a period of several weeks.  Then when Special Agent Fleishman with the assistance of a detective and Child Protective Services caseworker in the 21st century captured . . .”

 

Judge Henderson held up his hand to stop Agent Amanda and asked, “Would that 21st Century Caseworker be Edith Gunderson?”

 

Yes, your Honor,” replied Agent Amanda. “Indeed, she was the one who suggested lapping.  In any event, when they questioned the manager of the place where Alice parked her mobile home, the manager spoke of the daughter, by name.  So, we conclude there is a second Jessica Ann back in the 21st Century.”

 

“Does Ms. Guncerson concur with your conclusions?” asked the Judge.

 

“Yes, your Honor,” Replied Agent Amanda.  “She is searching for the child in the 21st Century.  My husband and I will be joining her after court today.”

 

“Good,” replied the Judge.  Turning his attention to the two Alice Beavertons, he asked “Can either of your two ladies shed any light on where the second Jessica Ann is?”

 

Neither Alice responded nor showed any sign of concern or willingness to speak.

 

“Well, then the Judge said, “I must hold you both until either you produce the child or we find her.”  He banged the gavel. “Court adjourned.”   Then the Judge turned to Agent Amanda, “Give my regards to Edith Gunderson.  I would, if I were you rely on her instinct when it comes to finding misplaced children.”

 

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in clouds, democratize money, fiction, medical stuff, photographs, weather and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cardiologist, Writing, Cascades & 049 Alice and Alice in Court (Agent Amanda Story)

  1. beetleypete says:

    In my ambulance days, we referred to your heart condition as CCF. Congestive Cardiac Failure. Luckily, it is a manageable condition, so now you are making those small changes, you should see some improvement. Perhaps those McD breakfasts might have to go though…

    Sorry to see you still have Winter close to home, as I type this in bright sunshine. At least it gave you fertile ground for good photos.

    I am predicting that the judge and Edith may well marry. Getting married in your future has its attractions, I am sure.

    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you:
      Perhaps breakfast, lunch, and dinner will have to go. My daughter is selling me on a vegetarian diet. Nancy will, of course, nag me about the salt and liquids (She can’t help herself). I may just stop eating in rebellion. I once went on a 1,000 calorie a day diet and lost a bunch of weight in six months. Diets never work, so I put it right back on. But it did teach me that I could get by on very little. 🙂
      The Ridgeline has an altimeter. (I am waiting to get the accessory that Honda will supply for adding wings and a tail. They just have to be told that is what customers want. 🙂 ) So, yesterday, I watched snow start at 3000 feet. On WA504 the 3,000-foot mark is at the end of a bridge crossing a creek (I think it was Cow Creek). It is cool, snow on the uphill side of the bridge and none on the other. It was raining as I drove. Around 1900 feet the rain started to show a mix of rain and snow. Then at 3,300 feet the mix of snow and rain turned into all snow. The temperature never got to or below freezing so the road was wet but not icy. In this neck of the woods, if we get to a high enough elevation we can always see, if not be in a snow field.
      Warmest regards, Theo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Home made sausage and egg mcmuffins are much healthier and nicer than McD’s so your change can be something to look forward to! (Of course the eggs are made by a chicken but you know what I mean). I am certain there is an Alice 3 looking after Jessica Ann 2 now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you.
    When you say homemade sausage, I presume you mean from scratch. Years ago, my first wife’s brother-in-law, Joe, raised pigs. Every year Joe butchered and processed meat, including making sausage and smoking hams, for the family and sold off the rest of his pigs. I recall one-time having breakfast with him sometime in the mid-1960s at McDonald’s on US Highway 40 west of Indianapolis. Sitting there he ate three of their sausages. He kept saying how he wished he could get their recipe for they were the best he had ever eaten. At the time, I thought like you, homemade is so much better. But then I didn’t start with the whole pig like Joe did when I got ground pork and made my own. The eggs are from free-range chicken’s Juli’s mother raises.

    If we get too many we will have to have subscripts for each: Alice(i) and Jessica Ann(j). 🙂 (They started at subscripts in Word, but when they come over to WordPress they became parenthetical.)
    Warmest regards, Ed

    Like

  4. Eddy Winko says:

    Lapping should be reserved for the racecourse, the milk bowl and the waters edge! Although it is starting to become clearer in my head…I see the next instalment up, I might just dive in whilst my mind is active and stimulated with tea.
    Odd to think that liquids could effect you heart, maybe its the mad dash to the toilet? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

