Holocausts then and now

Good Morning Ted and Jody:

A friend of mine reviews films from time to time on his blog.  https://beetleypete.wordpress.com/2017/03/30/just-been-watching-32/comment-page-1/#comment-23397

His most recent blog reviewed Son of Saul from 2015.  In his review, he said,  “After ‘Schindler’s List’, The Grey Zone’, and lots more, it may seem to many that there have been enough films made about the Holocaust. After all, even the most well-made and well-intentioned film about this subject can ultimately only serve to depress the viewer, reminding us of those awful events and the inhuman treatment of the prisoners. However, I would argue that they need to continue to be made, to carry on bringing these tragic stories to new audiences; lest the memory of these people and places becomes something ‘historical’, and future generations lose interest in what happened.”

My comments on his review, especially his opening statement were:

“Yes, I completely agree, we need to continue making Holocaust films.  As I watch the local news reports acts of senseless bigotry in the form of violence and property destruction committed in the name of race, nationalism, or religion I am amazed that there are that many people who still harbor notions of superiority and entitlement over others. Holocaust films put faces on victims of the senseless bigotry and violence from the past.  Holocaust films make those victims human.  People who are bigoted and commit acts of violence against others in identifiable groups are not able to put human faces on their victims. Would that we could put faces on the hate perpetrator’s victims for the perpetrators as easily.  Perhaps we should make films of contemporary hate crimes against humanity as well.

 “I need to add another comment. Those who hide their heads from history are forced to relive it. We are as responsible for our history as we are for our future.”

I have no idea of how to address the bigotry I see around me.  I am about to face it head on once I announce my candidacy.  I guess, hitting it head-on is the only way.  I recall when I first taught at USC; I was faced with continual reminders of racial hate and the symbols of it being glorified as history.  That it was only last year that State managed to take down the Confederate flag from its capitol grounds is amazing.

I finished another final version of Democratize Money yesterday.  I say another, as I suspect there will still be another and another and another.  But, I bound up a couple of copies for my treasurer and recording secretary and sent off PDF copies of it to two others people who have been involved in it writing in one way or another.  I have attached an updated version of the one I sent you earlier.

Now I shall see if I can get back to something resembling normalcy for me (whatever the hell that might be).

I trust this finds you warm, happy, healthy and normal.

Warmest regards, Ed

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in bigotry, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holocausts then and now

  1. beetleypete says:

    Thanks for the pingback, Theo. I was very pleased that you liked the film review.
    I expect that you are relieved to have got your document ‘out there’ at long last. Now you have to work on all those rebuttal arguments, to be ready for any critics!
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you.
      I was somewhat taken aback by those who wanted to stick their heads in the sand and avoid being reminded of past unpleasantness. Especially since that kind of unpleasantness is always with us, not always under the surface.
      Rebutles? Who could possibly argue with it? 🙂
      Warmest regards, Theo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

