Grammar Checker and Writing & 065 ATI Council Hearing Part IV (Agent Amanda Story)

Good Morning Ted and Jody:

 

I sometimes use a grammar checker, Grammarly.  I can either use it when I write or after I write.  It tells me mistakes I am making and then I either accept its judgment or reject it.  It is close to always being right, but sometimes context or syntax prevails, and Grammarly is, in those instances, not quite right, which is to say, taking its advice changes the meaning of what I have written.  Then too there are times when it just fails to pick up errors I make such as mixing up letters across two words as in “which it so say.” However, in this case, the Word Grammar/Spell Cheeker wants me to make “say” a plural.  In any event, it slows down the writing.  But, then when I turn it on it means I have a contest between the Word Grammar/Spell Checker and Grammarly.  Not that one is right and the other is wrong.  But that proper written English is open to interpretation. Then to one has to realize these products are brought to us from folks who are fluent in computer languages of one sort or another—a much more demanding set of linguistic rules than English.  But, generally, I forget to apply the grammar checker when I am done anyway.

 

I ran Democratize Money through Grammarly a few times and little thing still kept popping up.  I am about to run it again prior to publication.  Some time back, David Stowell told me that no one wants to read about money.  I have given about a dozen folks copies and other than Pete and Ed, who both read it for grammar and the like, I have received no feedback.  Perhaps David was right.

 

I am nearing the end of the Agent Amanda Story.  That is not a good title for it. But a title has not stuck me out of the blue yet.  There is a segment in today’s episode about a shrink that has given me an idea for another story.  It seems a bit flimsy so far, but we’ll see.

 

I have been tired a lot of late.  I will talk to the doctor about that when I see him on the 24th for my diabetics’ checkup. I start physical therapy this Friday.  Perhaps that will help get past the tired.  Then too, perhaps it is just the rainy weather finally catching up with me (I have ignored it for many months).

 

I trust this finds you happy, healthy and wide awake.

 

Warmest regards, Ed

 

065 ATI Council Hearing Part IV

Fiction in 833 words by T. Edward Westen

 

Director Meacham gaveled the Council Hearing back into session. “I understand, Special Agent Fleishman, that Melissa Hickson is present and has agreed to testify under some sort of agreement.”

 

“Yes, Director Meacham,” replied Special Agent Fleishman.  “Ms. Hickson had entered into a plea agreement with the temporal local authorities in the early 21st Century, in exchange for no prosecution as a result of her testimony before this body.  That is, of course, pursuant to this body accepting the terms of that agreement.”

 

“What are the terms of the agreement?” Director Meacham asked.

 

With your permission, Sir, I have asked Ms. Gunderson from Child Protractive Services in the early 21st Century to come and explain the terms,” said Special Agent Fleishman.

 

Director Meacham gestured with his hand for Ms. Gunderson to proceed.

 

The terms of the pleas bargain are rather simple, Sir,” said Ms. Gunderson. “Ms. Hickson will do supervised probation in our time while undergoing psychiatric counseling to bring her out of the post traumatic syndrome she experiences as a result of abuse suffered during her childhood.  Due to a recent war in our past, we have developed excellent counseling to bring people back from violent trauma witnessed or suffered.  Given our time does not contain any triggers for her remembering the trauma and any need to seek to compensate in a manner harmful to her daughter, our experts feel it is in Jessica Ann Hickson’s best interest if we keep them with us.  In return Melissa Hickson has agreed to give us a full and truthful account of, shall we say, transgressions involving ATI implants and her treatment of others.”

 

Director Meacham looked at Edith Gunderson questioningly and then asked, “Is that Judge Douglas Henderson with you?”

 

Yes, Sir, the Judge has been helpful in weaving through the legal intricacies that complicate things with two sets of laws at issue,” replied Edith Gunderson.

 

Turning to Judge Henderson, “You Honor, it would be helpful if we heard your take on this arrangement, er, a plea deal.”

 

“Yes Mr. Director,” said Judge Henderson.  “While we like to think, we are more civilized and humane than people were in the 21st Century. It turns out in this case that their law can accommodate Melissa Hickson’s transgression with greater leniency than can our laws.  You see, she violated many fewer laws in their temporal jurisdiction than those she violated in our jurisdiction.  Laws she violated in our time, such as lapping, would compel a period in a hospital and then jail time.  With her mother doing time Jessica Ann Hickson would be a virtual ward of the state for up to 5 years.”

 

“Did she commit lapping?” asked Director Meacham.

 

“I believe she will so testify, Sir,” replied Judge Henderson.”

 

“As a Judge, Sir,” asked Director Meacham, “are you comfortable with the plea deal and the psychiatrist counseling she will receive and the safety of her daughter if we exile her to the 21st Century.”

 

“Yes, Director Meacham,” replied Judge Henderson.  “I went back and talked to the psychiatrist who will be treating Ms. Hickson.  Thanks to the agency of Special Agent Fleishman I observed patients of that psychiatrist before and after his work with them.  Either their medical science is far ahead of ours or the man is a true miracle worker.  I have spent considerable time with Ms. Gunderson and am confident in her ability to supervise Melissa during treatment so that Jessica Ann Hickson is given the best home life possible.  Certainly, better than being a ward of the state even in this enlightened time. As for the exile part, I am not sure that is the right term.  As you can well imagine, talking to the psychiatrist about this case was initially awkward.  When he was, shall we say, shown, how time travel works, he began to, er, believe in it.  Now, he would like to try some treatment of other patients in other time periods.  It could well be that when he is successful in this case he will petition this council to work on other, shall we say, displaced persons in time.”

 

“You used the word ‘when’,” said Director Meacham.  “You are that confident of his success?

 

Judge Henderson nodded his head and said, “Yes, I am that confident in his success.  His techniques would be magnified were the man given a time travel implant.  But, I’ll leave that for him to explain should the occasion arise.”

 

Director Meacham turned his attention to the two Alice Beavertons and their attorneys.  “It would appear that things are looking up for your client Mr. Davidson.”

 

“Yes, Mr. Chairman,” replied Chelsey Davidson, “Would a bail request be in order?

 

“No, it would not,” said Director Meacham and brought down his gavel.  “We stand in recess for 30 minutes.”  Turning to Judge Henderson, Director Meacham, said, “Douglas, you should have let us know you were coming today.”

 

Judge Henderson said, “I only found out a few seconds before.  How are you and Elise doing?”

�7��

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in fiction, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Grammar Checker and Writing & 065 ATI Council Hearing Part IV (Agent Amanda Story)

  1. Eddy Winko says:

    A time traveling shrink! Well who knows.
    I hope the sunshine comes bac our again and puts a spring back in your step.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel the beginning of the end! My computer checks my spelling and corrects it as I type so I don’t have to bother running a program afterwards, but it doesn’t pick up everything and sometimes changes a word into something different which I miss, so I still have to re-read everything!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you.
      It could be, for we are over 67,000 words in this story
      My computer does that too. I often make mistakes because of its corrections. Sometimes when I use the Android devices to write, IfI don’t get to reread what I wrote at the time, I end up with sentences that I wonder, what in the world did I want to say. However, as a natural “misspeller,” I give it credit for even coming close to the right word when I misspell them.
      Warmest regards, Ed

      Liked by 1 person

  3. beetleypete says:

    Small wonder you are tired, Theo. All that work on DM, arranging to run for Congress, keeping up with the Amanda stories, and getting up at the crack of dawn to take photos too. That would make a 20 year-old tired. Be careful with your health, my friend.

    I am already picturing a time-travelling psychiatrist talking to Jack The Ripper about his motivation, and discussing world domination with Napoleon. An idea with ‘legs’, undoubtedly.

    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you:
      I do take my vitamins. So other than acting my age, I thought I was covered. 🙂 Sunrise keeps getting earlier and earlier. It is at 6:19 this morning (about 40 minutes after the rain is supposed to start). By next month it will be a good hour earlier. But, yes, I do need to pace myself a bit more. Thanks.
      Taking your lead, the time-traveling psychiatrist talking to Hanibal Lecter could end up on the platter. I don’t know what digesting a time travel implant does? Could it turn into a horror story with Hanible Lector lose in time?
      Warmest regards, Theo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

