Techical Glitch

For about a week my word processor has been acting up–freezing up.  I loose material when this happens.  Sunday I spent several hours uninstalling and reinstalling a new version of the software.  Silly me, I thought the problem was fixed.  It was not. Unfortunately, I lost two episodes of the current story.  Reconstructing them will take some time.  I do apologize but will try to get back to the story within a day or so.  In the meantime, the letter portion of the blog will continue tomorrow afternoon (Pacific Time).

Ed

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Techical Glitch

  1. Eddy Winko says:

    Sorry to hear that Ed, I hope you find a solution soon.
    What program do you use? I know that in programs such as Word it is possible to set the time of the auto save to a shorter period of time, for instance every minute. It may be worth investigating, if only to prevent the loss of too much work whilst you find the fix.
    You can also try searching for ‘*.tmp’ files, this may reveal some missing work.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you.
      I use two different programs. Word on the computer and Writer on the tablet. I transfer the Writer material to Word on the computer. In reinstalling Word, I forgot to set the autosave.I am sure the files are out there somewhere, but doing the search takes as much time if not more than redoing. 😦
      I look at this philosophically. It gives me a chance to invent more expletives.
      Warmest regards, Ed

      Like

  2. Agree with what Eddy said, also you could use something like Dropbox or google drive to save each chapter in the cloud, then even if your computer explodes your work will still be there read to access when you get a new one! Also an external hard drive would be a good thing to use, they are not expensive and your work is safe.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. beetleypete says:

    The others have suggested technical solutions that are mostly beyond me, but I add my sympathies at the loss of your work. My own way to fix such things is usually to threaten to throw the computer out of the window. That seems to scare it into activity.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

