Gadgets

Good Morning Ted and Jody:
Yesterday on one of my bouts on the stationary bike I saw an advertisement for a glass jar opener that clamps onto the jar and then opens the lid automatically. I don’t know why, but I had a flashback to the first time I was in the Smithsonian in DC and saw a table with gadgets from the late 18th and early 19th Century with a sign up “CAN ANYONE TELL US WHAT THESE WERE SUPPOSED TO DO?” (or something similar). Wait 200 years and put the glass jar opener I saw on the Tube on that table under than sign and I would defy anyone to come up with the right answer. As I look around I find more “unique” and “multi” purpose gadgets that will probably fit on that table: a church key (we use it to pop the seal on jar lids so we don’t have to buy the gadget I saw on TV), sewing gadgets that Nancy has and I cannot identify what they do today) I learned that the baby clothespins are used to hold binding on a quilt before it is hand sewn when you were here. And, here I thought they were for small chip bags to keep the chip I didn’t eat fresh by sealing the bag. Then I run across a box of computer cables with the varied connectors used over the past 40 to 50 years and think these are gadgets too. I wonder if most people today could identify which connector is used with which computer and which peripheral (strange that they call the input-output devices peripherals as the computer is useless without most of them). Then there is the myriad of camera “accessories” I have from up to 65 years ago. Most of those could go on the table at the Smithsonian today and most camera buffs (we call them amateur photographers) today could not tell you what they were. Then I picked dup my cell phone and was stuck by the gadgets on it: altimeter, compass, weather app, news app, Sudoku, Solitaire, calculator, calendar, camera, mileage tracker, bank account (I don’t use that one, it is just part of the package), the US Constitution and Federalist Papers, a writing program, a navigator, Alexa (shopping list on my phone connected to the one on the counter), five different clocks (timer, stop watch, lap timer, alarm and either a digital or analog 12 or 24 hour clock), an address and phone book (contacts) a phot album, a mobile hot-spot, a memo pad, a sound meter, various apps for coupons and discounts at several place I go regularly, and several different news sources. Keep in mind that I tend to minimize the gadgets (apps) I put on my phone. This all leads me to conclude that human beings are really just an excuse to gadgets to be invented—we, human begins, will buy any gadget.20170612_100210 c email.jpg
This morning when I got on the stationary bike, I tried to get news. Unfortunately, all that was on the speculation was a Cabinet meeting. The pestilence was listing the multitude of great things he has accomplished so I switched channels to a cannel that was presenting fiction under the title of fiction. I switched back assuming the live coverage would be over and heard instead one of his cabinet members thanking him for the great opportunity to serve (him or the country, it was not clear) and all the great things they have been ab le to accomplish. So, I switched back to a fiction that was presented as fiction. It did occur to me that the basic issue is that the Presidency and America are not about one man. The pestilence seems to miss that point and tries to make it about him as do his henchmen and henchwomen. One more thing is clear, he is minimalizing the importance and worth of the American People as viewed from 1600 PennsylvaniaAvenues and various golf clubs.

I trust this finds you happy, healthy and wealthy.
Warmest regards, Ed

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in chit chat, political. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gadgets

  1. beetleypete says:

    I like the plant photo, Theo.
    As or gadgets, to be honest, I am tired of them. Very tired, in fact.

    Like

  2. My son nicknamed my Mum Inspector Gadget, 🙂 I think I may be following in her footsteps 😳.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Eddy Winko says:

    I’m lucky in that since moving to Poland and living in poverty (relative to my previous existence) I haven’t purchased a single gadget or app, in fact I don’t even have a phone that I use on a regular basis (it sits in a draw and gets charged when I venture beyond walking distance of the house)
    In saying that I quite like my 9 year old TV, my 4 year old laptop and several 8 year old computers, my 10 year old digital SLR, 12 year old laser printer and 15 year old label printer.
    I often think about sending in the box of cables to weigh in for scrap, but I’ll save that for when time are hard 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

