The Osprey Eggs Hatched

Good Afternoon Ted and Jody:
Nancy is in the third day of a serger class. The rain also stopped. So I took off this morning and made a few rounds of photographic sites. My first stop was the boat ramp where the elements cooperated nicely.20170617_0741 7 shot Panorama ns email.jpg
My second stop was breakfast. The only photo opportunity was a man backing his car into a parking space and working at it for a good two minutes until he had a perfectly centered between the lines although some ten feet from the curb so it stuck out causing all other cars coming and going to try not to hit it. I left before any did. I did not video tape it but should have.
My third stop was the west side of the County on the Columbia River. The osprey eggs have hatched. I only have indirect evidence as I cannot see into the nest and did not see their little heads popping up while I was there. However, when I got there both parents were on the edge of the nest. I got set up as quickly as possible and shot just after the male flew off to go fishing. I was there for a good while and the female did not go in to sit on the eggs nor leave the nest. This is further evidence the eggs have hatched—her staying to protect them. Were the eggs not hatched she would have covered them with her body to keep them warm. Were there no hatchlings she would have not stayed but gone fishing too.DSCN0734 ns crop email.jpg
My fourth stop was back at the boat ramp where people were fishing off the dock.20170617_105458 ns email.jpg

So, that was the story of my morning and I am sticking with it.
I trust this finds you happy, healthy, wealthy and wise.
Warmest regards, Ed

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in birds, photographs. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Osprey Eggs Hatched

  1. beetleypete says:

    Great reflections in that first one, Theo. Good to see an Osprey update too.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love seeing the ospreys.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Eddy Winko says:

    Great shots, I especially like the fishing scene, not sure why it stands out but it has something.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

