Chit Chat & 009 The First 48 Hours: Part I

Good Morning Ted and Jody:

I got to thinking about the crew that drove to Michigan from Maryland and then left a bunch of fans and more than one big dehumidifiers running in your house after they removed all the standing water. They must have driven a big truck as they would need that much equipment at every place in Michigan they would be mopping up–a really big truck! I do hope your place has dried out by now.

I slept in this morning and then went to the corner Micky Dee for breakfast. While I was there one of the workers joined me and I learned more about the sounds I was hearing than I ever wanted to know. For example, when the ice cream machine makes a sound that is like a cross between a small dog barking and a duck in distress, the machine is freezing up causing strain on the paddles that keep the soft serve, well, soft. In short, the machine is in distress.

The local paper had a story about a local girl and her companion who have been walking around the the US:  http://tdn.com/news/local/r-a-long-graduate-explores-the-country-on-foot/article_43020909-e9eb-5fb8-9b2f-ca5ac6a74779.html I found it an interesting read. However, it still fails to get at the root causes of homelessness. Oddly the part of this story that impressed me the most was that I was able to find it online. It calls into question the whole reason for subscribing to home delivery. However, when I am out in the morning, I do enjoy reading a paper where I get breakfast. Indeed, on Mondays when we do not get a local paper I stop at a newspaper machine at a gas station and buy a big city one.

Warmest regards, Ed

009 The First 48 Hours: Part I
Fiction in 1050words by T Edward Westen, 2017

Andy Kellog opened the door to the Detective Squad. He stood in the door looking across the islands of paired desks pushed up against each other. A woman’s voice interrupted his search. “Looking for someone in particular?”

Without looking around he said, “Eddie, I mean, Detective Philipson .” Then he turned and saw it was the Desk Sargent. “Sorry, Sargent. I was wondering if there is any progress in finding Mrs. Calkins. I chased that SUV this morning and got the plates. Have you found her yet?”

The Desk Sargent shook her head no and said “Detective Philipson is out right now. Can I take your name and number and have him call you?”

“He knows me. He has my number. Tell him Andy Kellog stopped by. If there is anything that I can do to help find Mrs. Calkins have him call. In the meantime, I have every cab in town on the look out for that SUV with instructions to call 911 if they spot it. I know the first 48 Hours is important to get kidnapped victims back alive.”

“Mr. Kellog, 48 . . . The Desk Sargent started to say.

“Andy, please,” said Andy looking over his shoulder. “Please call me Andy. When I hear Mr. Kellog, I look to see if my late father’s ghost is around. Everyone called him Mr. Kellog.”

“Sorry I didn’t know,” The Desk Sargeant said. “As I was trying to say, Andy, most criminal cases get solved in the first 48 Hours or it can take a very long time. Not just kidnappings.”

Detective Philipson was, at that time, across town

in the Credit Union sitting behind Mrs. Calkins’ desk. He was addressing the woman standing in the door to Mrs. Calkins’ office. “No one has keys to the desk and files in here, Miss, error,. . .”

“Ms. Evers, Ms. Jamie Evers,” Replied the woman. “No one has keys to Mrs. Calkins’ desk or files, except Mrs. Calkins. ”

“What if someone,” Detective Phillipson started to say. He stopped himself, took his cell phone out of his inside jacket pocket speed dialed a number and said, “Captain, I need a warrant for the materials in Mrs. Calkins’ office and someone who can get into locked desk drawers and filing cabinets.” The Detective listened for a few moments and then said, “Right, I’ll stay here.” Turing to Ms. Evers, Detective Philipson asked, “Why are there no photographs, certificates or memorabilia on Mrs. Calkins’ desk, or walls?

“We all have wondered that for years,” responded Ms. Evers. “All of the girls, I mean teller window workers have photographs of at least children, some a dog,” Ms. Evers, chuckled,”even a prize-winning chicken. Mrs. Calkins always commented on the pictures up on desks, customer service windows, and workstations. You know, when a person first puts a picture of a baby up, Mrs. Calkins would say things like “My, my that is one cute baby.’ And say nice things abut any personal item employees have on their desks. She just seemed never to have any photos to share.

“Did she ever talk about her family? Detective Philipson asked.

Ms. Evers shaking her head said, “No. However, if someone asked if her husband fished or bowled or something like that she would only say, ‘not anymore.’ I never thought . . .

Detective Philipson’s cell phone rang interrupting Ms, Evers. He held his hand up as if to say, ‘Hold that thought.’ Into the phone, he said, “Yes.” After listening he said, “Perhaps you should call Andy Kellog and tell him we found the SUV so as to head off any cab driver vigilantism on the wrong SUV.” He listened again and said, “O.K. As soon as I am done her I’ll go over to her apartment and check it out as well. This lady kept a very clean desktop. I am not optimistic about what we will find here.”

Captain Batan entered the Credit Union

with several technicians and uniformed officers. He held a piece of paper and pronounced, ”We have a warrant.” Nodding to Detective Philipson he said, “I thought it would be faster if I brought it myself.”

One of the technicians went into Mrs. Calkins office and unlocked the desk and filing cabinets within minutes.

Detective Philipson started going through the desk drawers. “I wonder why she locked them?” he asked no one in particular. There is absolutely nothing personal in them. I find employment records, a study of this branch’s efficiency and approval rating from members. But nothing personal.”

“What about Mrs. Calkins’ personnel file?” asked Captain Batan.

“Not here, check the filing cabinets,” said, Detective Philipson.

Opening a middle drawer on the first file cabinet, Captain Batan said, “Bingo. I got lucky, here it is.”

Placing the file on the desk the two policemen started reading. After a few moments, Detective Philipson looked up and said, “According to this she has no history prior to working as manager of this branch of the Credit Union. All the information in this file is up to date as of the day she has hired some 26 years ago. Frank L. Calkins is her husband but no further information. She has lived at the same address that Andy Kellog reported picking her up this morning for all 26 years.”

I have a funny feeling we won’t get much more information about this lady at her home either unless the husband is real,” said Captain Batan. “Let’s go take a look.” Turning to the uniformed officers, “box up everything in this office and take it to the lab.”

(1926) Arriving at Norma Rae’s home and telephone exchange

in West Wash, Wyoming after a long buckboard ride from the Ladoga’s, Mrs. Calkins said, “Why not show me how to run the board so you can sleep in tomorrow.”

“better to wait for morning,” replied Norma Rae. “Everyone thinks the exchange is down until 6 A.M. Tomorrow it will be much easier to show you with some traffic.” She smiled and said, “That’s what we call telephone calls, ‘traffic.’ I think someone must have made up the word to impress management. Come along, let me show you the room you will have.”

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in chit chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Chit Chat & 009 The First 48 Hours: Part I

  1. beetleypete says:

    Now Mrs Calkins has no history. I am beginning to wonder what she’s going to get up to, in 1926!
    Very nice build-up, Theo.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you.
    I guess we will find out in the next few episodes.
    Warmest regards, Theo

    Like

  3. Eddy Winko says:

    Now that’s got me thinking, which is a worry! Has this happened to her before? Why was it a robbery on this credit union? An odd crime for time traveling gangsters….I knew I should waited till the morning 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. AND NO WORRIES!
      Your thinking is in the direction of the possibilities in the story. What makes sense and what doesn’t and what raises questions and what could possibly happen next. Your reactions, thoughts and comments are sound and on the right track in terms of trying to tell this story(ies). Could the robbery be a cover for something else? If they wanted to get Mrs. Calkins out of the way why not just shoot her? Thank you again. I hope what the characters tell me about how to relay their story(ies) to you lives up to your expectations.
      Warmest regards, Ed

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ha HAH! So Mrs.C is NOT the innocent victim we were led to believe. I feel I need a deerstalker, pipe and doctor.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

