The Last Day of the First Half of the Year & 012 The First 48 Hours: Part IV

Good Afternoon Ted and Jody:

Went to the podiatrist this morning as a follow up to my visit last month to work on my toe infections. He was most concerned about the future of healthcare given the direction he perceives the “rascals” in the White House and Capital seem to be taking. On the one hand, his is overwhelmed with the restrictions the government puts on what he can do and bill  them for at one time. On the other hand he thinks that the market will fall out of the bottom the Senate and House bills seem to create by excluding a big chunk of patients from insurance–”It doesn’t matter if people don’t want to buy insurance or can’t afford to buy it, without insurance patients will stop coming until they have an emergency and someone brings them to an emergency room. We all pay for that.” Still, his take on a government-run system of health care is definitely thumbs down. On the bright side, my toes seem to be improving a bit.

My recommended reading for the day is The 25th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, Article 4, second paragraph!

I have started counting stamps. I am up to over a thousand Czechoslovakian stamps. Lots of duplication, but when I get them all counted, I’ll make an eBay listing.

At midnight tonight, the year is half over. Here we are at midyear and we are lucky to be still here. I guess we need to count our blessings.

Warmest regards, Ed

012 The First 48 Hours: Part IV

Fiction in 1024 words by T. Edward Westen, 2017

Edith Gunderson looked at Detective Philipson quizzically and finally asked, “We are going to find Aida Calkins, aren’t we?”

I don’t know,” replied Detective Philipson without taking his eyes off the road. “She is lost somewhere in time or worse.”

Worse, what could be worse?” asked Edith Gunderson.

Kidnappings do not always end well for the victim,” replied Detective Philipson. “Sometimes we don’t even find their bodies.”

So, what do we know so far?” asked Edith Gunderson.

We found the car two years into the future. The money was taken into the past. We assume Mrs. Calkins was left somewhere in the past. We have no idea of where to start looking for her since we have no personal history information at all.”

That is simply silly,” asserted Ms. Gunderson. “Aida was born right here on the same day I was at St. Joseph’s when it was on Oregon Street. She is younger than me by two hours. We were even delivered by the same obstetrician, Dr. Omar Hansen. Aida and I celebrated many birthdays together.”

How do you know this?” asked Detective Philipson.

A lot longer ago than I want to admit,” replied Edith Gunderson. “Aida signed me up at the Credit Union for a shares account. She noticed the information on my birth certificate and we have been fast friends every since.”

Did she show you her birth certificate?” asked Detective Philipson.

No, who carries a birth certificate with them, unless they need it for something like a passport or opening a financial account?, asked Edith Gunderson. “Besides, who would make up such a coincidence.”

Detective Philipson pulled over to the curb. He dug out his cell phone from underneath the seat belt across his chest and dialed. “Captain, have someone check our vital records for the day Edith Gunderson was born. Edith tells me Aida Calkins was born here at St. Joseph’s two hours after she was. The attending obstetrician was Dr. Omar Hansen”

Funny, I never would have thought that was important,” said Edith.

{1926} Working the switchboard

was easier than Mrs. Calkins had imagined. A person wanting to make a call, hit their ear piece cradle several times to send electrons down a wire that turned on the light on the switchboard above two jack receptacles that when she plugged into the top one she had a direct connection with the caller. The caller told her whom they wanted and she plugged in a connection between the caller and the person with whom they wanted to talk. A light went on. Mrs. Calkins plugged in her headset. “Yes, how can I connect you?”

A female voice replied, “Norma Rae, this is Phyllis, I want to talk to Betty.”

I’m sorry, I am not Norma Rae,” replied Mrs. Calkins. “I’m just filling in. I can connect you to Betty if you tell me either her last name of her number.”

Rankin, Betty Rankin,” said Phyllis. “Where is Norma Rae and who are you?”

I don’t think I am supposed to say either until things are sorted out,” replied Mrs. Calkins. “In the meantime, just call me operator. Now here is the connection to the Rankin’s,” and she disconnected her headset. She turned to Deputy LeLoup, “That was a close one, I almost gave her my name.”

Yes, part of lying low is not giving out your name until we figure out who is trying to kill you and why,” replied Deputy LeLoup. You can bet your bottom dollar the board will light up now.”

He pointed as the conversation between Phyllis and Betty terminated, both their lights lit on the board. Within 15 minutes every light on the board had been or was lit.

{Present Day – United States Penitentiary, Terre Haute, Indiana}

A man in a thousand dollar suit put his briefcase on the desk and watched as the guard searched it for contraband. Attorney or not, the Federal Penal Authorities did not expect attorneys to bring in contraband, but then they didn’t take any chances. “Third visit this month, Mr. Guido,” the guard said handing him a visitor’s badge on a chain to hang around his neck with his name, his client’s name and the time of day neatly printed on the paper encased in the plastic holder.

My client has legal issues even in here,” replied Anthony Guido, Attorney at Law as he put the chain around his neck. “Aren’t you afraid one of the inmates will grab this chain and choke a visitor to death?”

Not a problem,” replied the guard, “We only use these for visiting attorneys.”

At that point, another guard approached and said, “Please follow me, Sir. Your client is already in Interview Room 3.

Getting to Interview Room 3 involved going through three locked doors and always being in the range of cameras set high on the wall. Once at the door to Interview Room 3, the guard had to use a set of keys to open it. Stepping inside, Anthony Guido said, “Good Morning Mr. Persico.” When the door shut behind him he said, “I am not at all sure what the message I bear means, but your Cousin had me memorize it and tested me over it outside in the car this morning.”

How is Joey” asked Salvatore Persico.

Between the two of us,” replied Anthony Guido, “his doctor says he will die unless he loses 200 pounds.”

Salvatore Persico laughed and said, “He is more likely to end up dead from messing with other men’s wives. But, what is the message?”

The wife of the rat is dead these past 100 years,” said Anthony Guido.

Good, now we will get word to the rat and then when he has time to suffer, we will have him join his lovely wife,” said a smiling Salvatore Persico. “Now, what progress are we making on the appeal?”

Excuse me, but we still don;t know where the rat is,” replied Anthony Guido.

Salvatore Persico exploded, “FIND HIM OR I WILL HAVE EVERONE’S BALLS.”

 

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in health insurance, political and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Last Day of the First Half of the Year & 012 The First 48 Hours: Part IV

  1. Eddy Winko says:

    And there was me thinking that Edith was going to start shedding light and then she goes and casts more shadows. And who the hell is Mr Prosecco! – I know I spelt it wrong but that’s what my brain read it first time 🙂 I must need a drink.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. beetleypete says:

    Looks like Mrs Calkins might be on a ‘witness relocation’ programme? The missing Mr Calkins must still be around somewhere. All good stuff, Theo. Keep it coming!
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

