Nothing about Trump in this Missive

Dear Ted and Jody:

There was not a cloud in the sky when I went out at dawn today, But the temperature was one degree above freezing. The boat ramp parking was packed with vehicles and boat trailers an hour before sunup, by nary a person was there—they were already out in their boats. I did not hang around, but returned home. On my way out of the boat ramp, a vehicle with a boat on a trailer pulled in. I have no idea if he stayed, for there was not a place for him to park after launching. Despite no clouds at dawn, we have a strong possibility of rain after 3 this afternoon.

s 20240420_052846

Taken at 5:32 AM, sunrise at 6:15.

I did get these shots last evening with the Nikon P900.

s DSCN4346 o
s DSCN4376
s DSCN4388
sc DSCN4406
st  DSCN4362 o

For the past year or so I have not wanted to buy things. I have sort of expected to get a letter from the Federal Reserve Bank telling me that I am not holding up my end of “consumer demand.” But finally I have bought two things (thus staving off the possibility that I will get said letter from the Feds). My printer gave out. That is it does not handle paper gently at all, it mangles it and distorts the printing to the point where some of what it prints is merely a smear. So, I had Nancy buy a new printer for me. Then I was playing solitaire to fill the time before taking my blood pressure (I always put it back) when an advertisement presented a watch that takes one’s blood sugar (and pressure and oxygen levels). Now, I use a continuous glucose meter, Dexcom G6 (and am supposedly upgrading to the G7). but at about $100 I could buy a watch which would do the same thing. So I brought one (or perhaps 3, I am unsure what exactly I ordered). Since I have a three month supply of the G6 I figure I can compare reading with the new watch, the G6 and periodic finger pricks and figure out if the new watch is a good substitute for the continuous blood sugar monitoring I currently do with the G6. Heck, I can offer my notes on the three readings to anyone who might find them useful. Heavens, if the new printer, and watch that monitors blood sugar work out, I may look for something else to purchase. Watch both the US velocity of money and inflation indices for my impact.

Ann Marie called this morning. Once again she made my day. We talked about a wide range of things including AI. She has been using one AI site and will be sending me the link so I can try it out and see how it works. So, I suspect there will be a report in a future missive on “Playing with AI.”

I get the impression that Iran is trying to minimize the impact of four ballistic missiles that Israel sent its way the other day. But, at the very least they are dithering. That their foreign minister called the missiles something like “toys our children play with” is a good sign.

The US House of Representatives has approved the Ukraine Aid package. Now it has to go back to the Senate given the games the House has played with and delayed the package. I suspect the Senate will pass it again (the last time it was bundled with aid to Israel, Taiwan, and other bits and pieces). Ukraine could have munitions to fire back at the Russians very quickly.

Is it inconsistent that I am against war between Iran and Israel expanding, and yet, for the Ukraine being able to fire back at Russia?

Love, Ed

About democratizemoney

Retired University Professor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nothing about Trump in this Missive

  1. beetleypete says:

    One of the drones that Israel used was (apparently) a 4-rotor commercially-available drone (launched locally in Iran by undercover agents) that can be bought in most large toy shops. (BBC report) That gave the Iranians the excuse to say that they had sent ‘toys’.

    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fraggle says:

    Cool photos of course. Glad they’re getting on with sending the stuff to Ukraine, that’s not going too well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment